- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

First half: Celtics – Cavs

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 4, 2010 @ 2:10 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Celtics [1] jumped out to an 8-1 lead in the first two minutes in never trailed in the first quarter. It was Ray Allen [2] — not LeBron James [3] — who led all players with 10 points. James and Mo Williams [4] were right behind him with eight points apiece for the Cavs. Both teams shot 50 percent from the field in the first quarter.

Doc Rivers [5] turned to his bench when Rajon Rondo [6] picked up two early fouls. First one in: Tony Allen [7], who is averaging 9.25 points and 3.5 rebounds in the last four games. Interesting move as this left the unit without a true point guard. That didn’t halt the Celtics, though, as they outscored the Cavs, 33-24, after the first 12 minutes.

The Celtics continued to build their lead in the second quarter. They were up, 50-40, with 3:23 left before back-to-back fouls on Ray Allen and Kevin Garnett [8] allowed the Cavs to chip away at the deficit. They went on a 7-2 run to get back within five. But the Celtics answered with a 5-0 run of their own, propelled by Garnett and Paul Pierce [9]. Rondo drained a 3-pointer as time expired to give the Celtics a 64-49 halftime lead.

Williams leads all players with 15 points. James has 10. Rondo and Ray Allen scored 12 each. The Celtics are 37-17 when leading or tied at the half.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/04/first-half-celtics-cavs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[4] Mo Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mo-williams.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[10] > First half: Celtics – Cavs" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/04/first-half-celtics-cavs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.