- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

A look back: Celtics vs. Heat

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 15, 2010 @ 11:15 pm In General | 3 Comments

The Celtics [1] and Heat will square off in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference playoffs on Saturday. The teams faced each other three times this season, with the Celtics sweeping the regular-season series. See how the Celtics got a 3-0 edge over the Heat heading into the postseason:

CELTICS 92, HEAT 85
Nov. 29, 2009, at Miami

How the Celtics won: Led by 24 points (11-12 FG) from Kevin Garnett [2], the Celtics starters led a balanced attack in this win over the Heat. Rajon Rondo [3] (13 points, 11 assists) and Kendrick Perkins [4] (14 points, 13 rebounds) recorded double-doubles; Paul Pierce [5] added 15 points; and Ray Allen [6] scored 11, including a key 3-pointer late in the fourth quarter. The C’€™s shut the Heat down from behind the arc (2-for-15). Michael Beasley was the only player to knock down a trey.

Wade watch: Dwyane Wade [7] scored a game-high 27 points. He attempted 23 field goals, the same number as Garnett and Pierce combined. The Heat were also a team-low -14 with Wade on the court.

Key stat: Assists ‘€” Celtics 21, Heat 12

After the game: Celtics 13-4, Heat 9-7

The Three-Pointer: Garnett enjoys a run of near perfection [8]

CELTICS 112, HEAT 106 (OT)
Jan. 6, 2010, at Miami

How the Celtics won: Dwyane Wade seemed to have stolen the win for the Heat — literally — with a steal and dunk to put the Heat ahead with 0.6 seconds left in the fourth quarter. But the Celtics answered with one of the most memorable plays of the season. Paul Pierce lobbed the ball to Rajon Rondo for a game-tying lay-in as time expired in regulation. The C’€™s outscored the Heat, 11-5, in overtime. Rondo led the Celtics with 22 points while the entire starting five scored more than 15 points apiece. Rasheed Wallace [9] started in place of the injured Kevin Garnett.

Wade watch: Wade scored a game-high 44 points (15-34 FG, 11-16 FT), 25 more than the Heat’€™s next highest scorer (Udonis Haslem [10]).

Key stat: Turnovers ‘€” Celtics 24, Heat 11

After the game: Celtics 25-8, Heat 17-16

The Three-Pointer: It’s like they never left [11]

CELTICS 107, HEAT 102
Feb. 3, 2010, at Boston

How the Celtics won: Dwyane Wade made a key steal in the previous matchup, but this time Tony Allen [12] stole the ball from Wade with 37 seconds left. Allen, starting in place of the injured Paul Pierce, made key free throws to put the Celtics up by five and secure the victory. Ray Allen scored a team-high 23 points (15 in the fourth quarter alone), Rajon Rondo recorded a double-double with 22 points and 14 assists, Eddie House [13] scored 16 points off the bench, and Kevin Garnett dished nine assists.

Wade watch: Wade recorded a double-double of his own with 30 points and 13 assists.

Key stat: Rebounds ‘€” Celtics 41, Heat 31

After the game: Celtics 31-16, Heat 24-25

The Three-Pointer: Order restored [14]


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/15/a-look-back-celtics-vs-heat/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[8] Garnett enjoys a run of near perfection: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/celtics/jessica-camerato/2009/11/29/three-pointer-garnett-enjoys-run-near-perfection

[9] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[10] Udonis Haslem: http://media.weei.com/basketball/udonis-haslem.htm

[11] It’s like they never left: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/jessica-camerato/2010/01/07/three-pointer-its-they-never-left

[12] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[13] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[14] Order restored: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/paul-flannery/2010/02/03/three-pointer-order-restored

[15] > A look back: Celtics vs. Heat" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/15/a-look-back-celtics-vs-heat/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.