- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics-Heat: Five thoughts at halftime

Posted By Kirk Minihane On April 17, 2010 @ 9:31 pm In General | No Comments

1. Is this 1997?

After a thoroughly entertaining first quarter that saw both teams shoot over 50 percent and combine for 57 points, the second-quarter turned into a dinner theatre production of the old Heat-Knicks playoff series, where the first to 70 usually picked up the win. All that was missing was old friend P.J. Brown body-slamming Charlie Ward into the ground. Just how ugly was it? Well, the Celtics [1] were down by one point after the first quarter, scored 13 points in the second, and still were only losing by three at the half.

2. Ray Allen [2] and Paul Pierce [3] need to get going

The two leading scorers on the Celtics combined to shoot 3-for-12 in the first half. Maybe they get by tonight if that continues, but it’s hard to imagine a long playoff run with both Pierce and Allen out of sorts.

3. Kevin Garnett [4] was the best Celtics player on the court

Seven points, five rebounds, three assists, one steal and zero turnovers in his 16:58 of playing time in the first half.

4. Kendrick Perkins [5] has to be more aggressive

Perkins seemed hesitant to shoot the ball even with good post position on Jermaine O’Neal [6], often kicking the ball out to Ray Allen or Pierce despite single-coverage. His line for the first half (four points, one rebound, three turnovers) pretty much told the story. O’Neal, meanwhile, was active in the first half, shooting just 3-of-10 (eight points) but grabbing seven rebounds.

5. We might have seen the last of Glen Davis [7] tonight

Might be that someone does put Baby in the corner — Doc Rivers [8]. Davis had a pair of shots blocked (pause for shock) in his seven-plus minutes on the court and generally looked overmatched on both ends of the court.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/17/celtics-heat-five-thoughts-at-halftime/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[7] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[8] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[9] > Celtics-Heat: Five thoughts at halftime" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/17/celtics-heat-five-thoughts-at-halftime/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.