- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics-Heat

Posted By Kirk Minihane On April 17, 2010 @ 11:00 pm In General | No Comments

It wasn’t pretty, but the Celtics [1] turned back the clock to 2008 to pick up an 85-76 first-round, Game 1 win over the Heat on Saturday night.

(Click here [2] to see the box score.)

OK, maybe it wasn’t quite as dramatic as Game 4 of the 2008 NBA Finals [3], but there were a couple of parallels. Instead of Kobe Bryant [4], it was Dwyane Wade [5] that was frustrated by the Celtics defense, with Tony Allen [6] playing the role of James Posey [7]. And Paul Pierce [8] was the engine for the comeback in both contests.

First Quarter: The Celtics and Heat each shot over 50 percent in an entertaining opening quarter that saw the Heat grab a 29-28 lead after 12 minutes. Tony Allen replaced Ray Allen [9] (who left the game with a bloody nose) and scored eight points to lead all Celtics.

Second Quarter: The Heat only scored 15 points in the second quarter but still managed to increase the lead to 44-41 at the half. The Celtics were held to 13 points in the second quarter, connecting on just four field goals. Following Ray Allen’s layup with 10:21 left in the quarter the Celtics went over six minutes before hitting on another field goal. No Boston player scored in double figures in the first half, with Tony Allen leading all Celtics with eight points. Dwyane Wade paced all players with 11 first-half points.

Third Quarter: The Heat started the quarter on a 17-6 run to grab a 61-47 lead. The Celtics responded with a 17-5 burst to close out the quarter and cut the lead to just 66-64. Paul Pierce was the standout during the run, scoring nine points. Kevin Garnett [10] also was key in the quarter, scoring six points with four rebounds. Wade had nine points in the quarter for the Heat and Quentin Richardson [11] added eight.

Fourth Quarter: All about the defense for the Celtics, as the Heat were limited to just 10 points in the final quarter (and just 32 for the second half.)

Player of the Game: Tony Allen set a playoff career high with 14 points, hitting on 7-of-12 shots. He also locked down Wade during the third-quarter comeback and into the fourth-quarter, as Wade went nearly 12 minutes without scoring.

Turning Point: The third-quarter run by the Celtics. The game was looking to be on the verge of a blowout win for the Heat before the Celtics went on the 17-5 tear.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/17/fast-break-celtics-heat/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] here: http://weei.stats.com/nba/boxscore.asp?gamecode=2010041702

[3] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[6] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[7] James Posey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-posey.htm

[8] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[9] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[10] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[11] Quentin Richardson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/quentin-richardson.htm

[12] > Fast Break: Celtics-Heat" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/17/fast-break-celtics-heat/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.