- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

The Varejao factor

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 29, 2010 @ 5:22 pm In General | No Comments

WALTHAM – In three games against the Celtics [1] this season, Anderson Varejao averaged 13 points, nine rebounds ( with half of them coming on the offensive glass) and about a hundred different migraines. His energy seemed to overwhelm the Celtics and he was a huge key in Cleveland’s 20-point win over the Celtics at the Garden.

Doc Rivers [2] likened him to Joakim Noah [3] and his own player, Glen Davis [4], allowing for the obvious difference in height.

“They’€™re only good because they play hard with a high basketball IQ,” Rivers said. “I can give you a bunch of guys who can play hard but don’€™t think. They do it intelligently. That’€™s what made Dennis Rodman [5] so good because his IQ on the floor was ridiculous. Varejao’€™s just a smart, crafty, hard-playing 7-footer.”

Davis will play a large role in this series. The Celtics are counting on him and Rasheed Wallace [6] to match Varejao’s energy off the bench as well as the other big men options the Cavs can throw at the Celtics.

“Our bench has to play well,” Rivers said. “It doesn’€™t have to be all of them. The combination of Baby and Rasheed, we need one of them and we would prefer two. They have to play well. We need somebody to match Varejao’€™s energy. The two games they won he was the best player. He dominated those games with his energy and his effort.”

Varejao has also been known as an irritant, which is part of his job. He’s the kind of player only the hometown fans can love, even though all give him grudging respect. Davis is also an emotional player, but Rivers doesn’t think that will be an issue, at least not for him.

“I’€™m not worried about him getting under Baby’€™s skin,” Rivers said. “I am more concerned about the Kevin [Garnett’s]  and the Rasheed’€™s because that’€™s what he wants to do. Baby’€™s pretty good with that. Baby will just keep competing back. Baby actually has the ability to get under people’€™s skin himself. The other guys, they know it. Listen, if I’€™m Varejao and I can get under their skin, I’€™m going to try.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/29/the-varejao-factor/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Joakim Noah: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joakim-noah.htm

[4] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[5] Dennis Rodman: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dennis-rodman.htm

[6] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[7] > The Varejao factor" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/29/the-varejao-factor/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.