- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

First Quarter Wrap: Celtics – Cavs

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 3, 2010 @ 8:45 pm In General | No Comments

First quarter: Celtics [1] 26 – Cavaliers [2] 22

Leading scorers
Celtics: Rajon Rondo [3] – 6 points (2-2 FG, 1-1 3PG)
Cavs: Antawn Jamison [4] – 6 points (3-5 FG), Anthony Parker [5] – 6 points (2-4 FG, 2-2 3PG)

Key stats
Field goal percentage: Celtics 66.7% – Cavaliers 37.5%
Turnovers: Celtics 7 – Cavaliers 3
Fouls: Celtics 6 – Cavaliers 4

Doc River said Rasheed Wallace had to play better [6]. So far, he’s listened. Wallace replaced Kendrick Perkins [7] in the first quarter and hit his first basket (a jumper) less than a minute later. He posted 5 points and 1 rebound in two minutes.

The Celtics were successful in containing LeBron James [8] (3 points, 1-4 FG), but the team committed seven turnovers in the quarter, giving up some of their defensive edge.

Paul Pierce [9] picked up two fouls in 10 seconds – one trying to stop James at the basket, the other an offensive call against Anthony Parker.

Rajon Rondo quieted the Cavs crowd with a 3-pointer as time ran down to push the C’s lead up to four.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/03/first-quarter-wrap-celtics-cavs-3/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Antawn Jamison: http://media.weei.com/basketball/antawn-jamison.htm

[5] Anthony Parker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/anthony-parker.htm

[6] Rasheed Wallace had to play better: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/02/rivers-on-sheed-he-has-to-play-better/

[7] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[8] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[9] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[10] > First Quarter Wrap: Celtics – Cavs" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/03/first-quarter-wrap-celtics-cavs-3/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.