- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rondo named to NBA-All Defensive Team

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 5, 2010 @ 3:06 pm In General | No Comments

Rajon Rondo [1] was named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team, the league announced on Wednesday. Rondo finished second in voting to Dwight Howard [2]. LeBron James [3], Kobe Bryant [4], and Gerald Wallace [5] were also named to the First Team.

Rondo led the league with 2.3 steals per game during the regular season. He set a Celtics [6] franchise record in single-season steals (189), held previously by Rick Fox (1996-97). Rondo also ranked 10th among all guards with 360 total rebounds (4.4 rpg).

Members of the First and Second Teams were voted on by position by the NBA’€™s head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for players from their own teams. Players received two points for a First Team vote and one point for a Second Team vote.

All-Defensive First Team
Center ‘€“ Dwight Howard, Magic (57 points)
Guard ‘€“ Rajon Rondo, Celtics (50 points)
Forward ‘€“ LeBron James, Cavaliers [7] (45 points)
Guard ‘€“ Kobe Bryant, Lakers (34 points)
Forward ‘€“ Gerald Wallace, Bobcats (30 points)

All-Defensive Second Team
Center ‘€“ Tim Duncan [8], Spurs (21 points)
Guard ‘€“ Dwyane Wade [9], Heat (20 points)
Forward ‘€“ Josh Smith, Hawks (20 points)
Forward ‘€“ Anderson Varejao, Cavaliers (15 points)
Guard ‘€“ Thabo Sefolosha, Thunder (14 points)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/05/rondo-named-to-nba-all-defensive-team/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[3] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[8] Tim Duncan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tim-duncan.htm

[9] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[10] > Rondo named to NBA-All Defensive Team" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/05/rondo-named-to-nba-all-defensive-team/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.