- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rivers on D&C: Garnett, Perk OK for Friday

Posted By Jerry Spar On May 6, 2010 @ 9:48 am In General | 1 Comment

Celtics [1] coach Doc Rivers [2] made his weekly appearance on the Dennis & Callahan show Thursday morning. To hear the interview, click on the Dennis & Callahan audio on demand page [3]. Rivers provided an update on the status of injured big men Kevin Garnett [4] and Kendrick Perkins [5]. Rivers said Garnett isn’t likely to practice Thursday so he can rest his foot and ankle, but he shouldn’t miss any game action. “I do think he’ll play on Friday, and I think he’ll be OK,” Rivers said. “Perk will be fine. Kevin’s the only concern.”

Rivers was asked about Garnett’s shower room pep talk that inspired Rasheed Wallace [6] to turn in his best performance of the playoffs in Monday’s Game 2 rout of the Cavaliers [7]. Said Rivers: “We were joking yesterday, maybe it was the ‘Hot Tub Time Machine.’ Whatever works, works. Rasheed was huge for us. We don’t win that game without his performance.”

Paul Pierce [8] has been kept in check through the first two games, and Rivers said the Celtics need him to break out. “We have to get Paul a little more offensively involved and try to get him in spots,” Rivers said, crediting LeBron James [9]‘ defense as a key factor. “Paul being in foul trouble in both games has not helped his rhythm, either.”

Rivers also weighed in on the Danny Ainge towel-throwing controversy from Game 2. “I think every fan should have a towel [Friday], and Danny can’t have one,” he joked. “We got a lot of laughs out of that. Danny is so competitive, and he got carried away, which he’ll fully admit. I’m surprised at how much play it got [in the media].”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/06/rivers-on-dc-garnett-perk-ok-for-friday/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Dennis & Callahan audio on demand page: http://audio.weei.com/weei/dennis_and_callahan.htm?resultType=media&media=audio

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[7] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[8] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[9] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[10] > Rivers on D&C: Garnett, Perk OK for Friday" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/06/rivers-on-dc-garnett-perk-ok-for-friday/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.