- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Thomsen: Celtics considered Perkins trade

Posted By Tom Layman On May 7, 2010 @ 1:52 pm In General | 3 Comments

According to SI’s Ian Thomsen, Ray Allen [1] wasn’t the only Celtic shopped around at the trade deadline. Thomsen said there were discussions of a Kendrick Perkins [2] for Carlos Boozer deal, which would have changed the landscape of the Celtics [3] roster.

“Everybody had heard they were looking to deal Ray Allen for Caron Butler,” Thomsen said. “It turned out that was never going to happen. The Wizards were going to send Caron Butler to Dallas. But if the Celtics would have been able to make that deal they would have taken some of what they got from Washington and turned that around with Kendrick Perkins and made a deal for Carlos Boozer with Utah. That’s what they were looking to do. I’m not sure if it ever would have gone through, but they were seriously pursuing that end.”

That would have left the Celtics with a starting five of Kevin Garnett [4], Boozer, Paul Pierce [5], Butler and Rajon Rondo [6]. Thomsen said it would have been a good move, but one that would have been pricey.

“It would have made them younger and it would allow them to contend for years going forward,” he said. “But it also would have made them even more expensive than ever. I think it just says a lot about the ambition of the franchise and the willingness to spend money if they think it’s going to pay off. That goes against the trend of other teams we’ve seen in the NBA right now.”

To listen to the interview, CLICK HERE [7].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/07/thomsen-celtics-considered-perkins-trade/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[2] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] CLICK HERE: http://audio.weei.com/m/30848001/ian-thomsen-sports-illustrated.htm

[8] > Thomsen: Celtics considered Perkins trade" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/07/thomsen-celtics-considered-perkins-trade/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.