- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Perkins: ‘Without [Rondo], we’d be dead’

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 8, 2010 @ 5:04 pm In General | 1 Comment

WALTHAM — Between Paul Pierce [1], Ray Allen [2], and Kevin Garnett [3] alone, it has never been easy to pinpoint the best player on the Celtics [4]. Throw the development of Rajon Rondo [5] into the mix this season, and the task is even tougher.

It’€™s easy, though, for Kendrick Perkins [6]. Not only does he consider Rondo to be the C’€™s top player, he also considers him their lifeline.

‘€œI think right now, he’€™s the best player on our team,’€ Perkins told WEEI.com following practice on Saturday. ‘€œWithout Rondo, nothing goes. Pretty much we’€™ve got to play him the whole game because he just runs the whole team. Without him, we’€™d be dead.’€

Rondo is playing a team-high 41 minutes per game in the Eastern Conference Semifinals against the Cavaliers [7]. His numbers have consistently improved from the regular season throughout the playoffs. In the first three games against the Cavs, he leads with team with 19.3 points and 13.0 assists, more than five points and three assists better than the regular season. He is also shooting 56.8 percent from the field and averaging 5.0 rebounds, more boards than Allen and Pierce.

‘€œI think he stepped up,’€ said Perkins. ‘€œHe’€™s been more focused than ever, in my opinion, and he’€™s been doing a great job of leading us.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/08/perkins-without-rondo-wed-be-dead/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[7] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[8] > Perkins: ‘Without [Rondo], we’d be dead’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/08/perkins-without-rondo-wed-be-dead/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.