- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Halftime Wrap: Celtics-Magic

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 16, 2010 @ 4:49 pm In General | 1 Comment

It is fitting that a game featuring a pair of first team All-Defensive players would be a low-scoring duel.

The Celtics [1] lead the Magic, 41-32, at halftime.

Neither team shot the ball well in the first quarter, combining for just 36 points. The Celtics took a 22-14 lead after shooting 37 percent compared to 20 percent by the Magic. Ray Allen [2] led all players with 8 points while Pierce added seven in just eight minutes (he was sidelined with two early fouls). Dwight Howard [3] led the Magic with six points, although the C’€™s defense forced him to shoot 1-for-5 from the field. In spite of five boards from Howard, the Celtics had a more balanced attack on the glass. The outrebounded the Magic, 16-10, behind five boards from Kevin Garnett [4], four from Ray Allen, and three from Rajon Rondo [5].

The Celtics went on a 7-0 run at the start of the second quarter to push the lead up to 15, 29-14. The Magic got back in the game, though, as Marcin Gortat provided a spark off the bench in place of Howard. He got to the basket with ease and scored six points in three minutes. The Magic cut the deficit to 33-24 before Ray Allen and Tony Allen [6] pushed the C’€™s lead back up to 41-32.

Ray Allen leads all players with 12 points at halftime. After shooting 84 percent in the Eastern Conference Semifinals against the Hawks, Howard is 1-for-5 from the floor. Vince Carter [7] has 10 points for the Magic, who are 0-for-9 from 3-point range. The C’s have a 24-21 advantage on the boards.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/16/halftime-wrap-celtics-magic/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[7] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[8] > Halftime Wrap: Celtics-Magic" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/16/halftime-wrap-celtics-magic/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.