- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

C’s anticipate changes, don’t care

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 21, 2010 @ 2:50 pm In General | 3 Comments

WALTHAM — The talk out of Orlando is that Matt Barnes [1] wants Paul Pierce in Game 3 [2]. Barnes also went on to call Pierce a flopper for good measure.

The Celtics [3] heard all that and frankly don’t really care how the Magic decide to match up with Pierce.

“Obviously they want to play better defensively, probably on me,” Pierce said Friday. “Who knows what they’€™re going to do as far as trapping and different matchups. We’€™re going to make some adjustments ourselves. We still feel like we haven’€™t played our perfect game yet. We’€™re still in search of that. It doesn’€™t affect anything that I’€™m trying to do offensively when we play the Magic.”

Orlando coach Stan Van Gundy [4] changed things up before Game 1 by having Barnes guard Ray Allen [5] and Vince Carter [6] on Pierce, who has turned Carter inside out by scoring 50 points on just 24 shots in the first two games.

“It doesn’€™t affect us,” Doc Rivers [7] said. “When you’€™re down 2-0 you do make some changes. We have to anticipate that. But they’€™re not going to make many changes. We are who we are, they are who they are, they’€™re just going to try to do it better. Barnes or [Mikael] Pietrus will probably guard Paul. Vince will go to Ray. That’€™s how a lot of us thought it would start in the series and now they’€™re just going to back that.”

Rivers expects Orlando will try to go big with Dwight Howard [8] and Marcin Gortat playing a Twin Towers look and possibly Rashard Lewis sliding over to the 3-spot. But the Celtics won’t vary their personnel much, mainly because they can’t.

“Some teams have the ability to go big, small or change,” Rivers said. “We unfortunately, or fortunately, do not. We’€™re just going to be who we are and just be the best at that.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/21/cs-anticipate-changes-dont-care/

URLs in this post:

[1] Matt Barnes: http://media.weei.com/basketball/matt-barnes.htm

[2] wants Paul Pierce in Game 3: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/20/barnes-wants-to-guard-pierce-calls-him-a-flopper/

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Stan Van Gundy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stan-van-gundy.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[9] > C’s anticipate changes, don’t care" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/21/cs-anticipate-changes-dont-care/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.