- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

SVG: Celtics weren’t playing possum

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 24, 2010 @ 10:27 pm In General | 1 Comment

Orlando coach Stan Van Gundy [1] said anyone who thought the Celtics [2] were holding back during the regular season just because they won only 50 games is terribly mistaken.

“I think that’s a bunch of crap,” Van Gundy said. “I think they had injuries, period. I don’t think they were holding anything back. Kevin Garnett [3] had a serious knee injury that takes a lot of time to get back to full strength. When we were at the All Star Game, at that point, I didn’t either Garnett or Pierce were at full speed or looked healthy, still. I thought Kevin was still having trouble with mobility in that leg and Paul’s foot was bothering him. Injuries mean a lot.”

Van Gundy saw both Garnett and Paul Pierce [4] during the All Star break in Arlington, Texas. He said he knew at the time, the Celtics weren’t at full strength. The Celtics finished fourth in the East with a 50-32 record, behind Cleveland, Orlando and Atlanta.

“They weren’t 41-41 were they? The way everybody talked about them they exploded out of the blue after winning 41 games,” Van Gundy added. “Didn’t they win 50 games? Fifty games is a hell of a season, and those guys weren’t healthy. I don’t they were out there saying, ‘Let’s hold it back.’ I think that’s ridiculous and I think it’s insulting to them, quite honestly.”

Doc Rivers [5] knows a thing or two about getting shown the door. He was dismissed early in the 2004 season following a 1-10 start in Orlando after earning coach of the year honors in 2000. He has watched as Mike Brown [6] won 60-plus games in back-to-back seasons and led his team to the NBA Finals [7] in the year before.

“I don’t know what you have to do to keep your job,” said a perplexed Rivers.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/24/svg-celtics-werent-playing-possum/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stan Van Gundy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stan-van-gundy.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Mike Brown: http://media.weei.com/football/mike-brown.htm

[7] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[8] > SVG: Celtics weren’t playing possum" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/24/svg-celtics-werent-playing-possum/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.