- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

1st Half Summary: Celtics vs. Magic Game 5

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 26, 2010 @ 9:53 pm In General | No Comments

The first half was what the Celtics [1] feared all along coming into this Eastern Conference final series.

Down 3-0, the Magic looked ice cold from long range, couldn’t get Dwight Howard [2] going and couldn’t start their patented fast break start with Howard blocking shots.

All three came to life in scary fashion in the first half as the Magic drilled 9-of-15 from 3-point range while Dwight Howard had five blocks and 10 points. J.J. Redick was huge again off the bench with a team-high 11.

All of it added up to a 57-49 Orlando lead at the break.

The last thing Doc Rivers [3] and his defensive wizard Tom Thibodeau [4] wanted the Eastern Conference finals to turn into was a three-for-all.

That’s exactly what happened in the first half, as the Magic raced out to a 14-point lead thanks to early foul trouble by the Celtics.

And worst of all, Kendrick Perkins [5] was ejected by official Eddie F. Rush on a questionable call. It’s also his 7th of playoffs, which will disqualify him for a Game 6. Perkins picked up a foul on Dwight Howard with 36.1 seconds remaining in the second quarter. He was flabbergasted and ran away from Rush toward mid-court and Rush decided that it was behavior that deemed a second technical of the game, an automatic ejection.

Meanwhile Paul Pierce [6], with a game-high 16 in the first half, passed the 2,000-mark in career postseason points. The Celtics captain became the 9th player in franchise history to do it.

The eight others, Larry Bird [7], John Havlicek, Kevin McHale [8], Sam Jones [9], Robert Parish [10], Bill Russell [11], Tom Heinsohn, and Bill Cousy, are all in the Hall of Fame.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/26/1st-half-summary-celtics-vs-magic-game-5/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Tom Thibodeau: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tom-thibodeau.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Larry Bird: http://media.weei.com/basketball/larry-bird.htm

[8] Kevin McHale: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-mchale.htm

[9] Sam Jones: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sam-jones.htm

[10] Robert Parish: http://media.weei.com/basketball/robert-parish.htm

[11] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[12] > 1st Half Summary: Celtics vs. Magic Game 5" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/26/1st-half-summary-celtics-vs-magic-game-5/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.