- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

A day for Celtics Game 5 success?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 26, 2010 @ 12:11 am In General | 1 Comment

On Wednesday, the Celtics [1] will look to wrap up the Eastern Conference finals in Game 5 against the Magic in Orlando.

If they are able to do so, it would not be the first time a Celtics team has pulled off a significant Game 5 win on May 26.

On May 26, 1987, Larry Bird [2] infamously stole an inbounds pass from Isiah Thomas [3] and dished to Dennis Johnson [4] for the game-winning basket against the Detroit Pistons [5] in the Game 5 of the Eastern Conference finals.

The Celtics went on the win the series in seven games before ultimately falling to the Los Angeles Lakers [6] in Game 6 of the NBA Finals [7].

(Click here [8] for extended footage.)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/26/a-day-for-celtics-game-5-success/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Larry Bird: http://media.weei.com/basketball/larry-bird.htm

[3] Isiah Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/isiah-thomas.htm

[4] Dennis Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dennis-johnson.htm

[5] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[6] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[7] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[8] Click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaCHv8fECws

[9] > A day for Celtics Game 5 success?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/26/a-day-for-celtics-game-5-success/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.