- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Thibodeau in running for Bulls job

Posted By Jerry Spar On May 31, 2010 @ 8:55 am In General | 1 Comment

Reports last week indicated that the Hornets were ready to offer their head coaching job to Celtics [1] assistant Tom Thibodeau [2], and a story by Adrian Wojnarowski at Yahoo!Sports [3] late Sunday night says the team has begun contract discussions with Thibodeau’s representatives at Creative Artists Agency. However, a story out of Illinois’ Daily Herald [4] Monday morning notes that the Bulls have interest in him as well, and multiple reports say that Thibodeau plans to remain in discussions for the Nets [5] job.

Daily Herald reporter Mike McGraw writes that Thibodeau and former Trail Blazers coach Maurice Cheeks are the favorites in Chicago. But the story indicates that Lakers assistant Brian Shaw (a former Celtic) now is being pushed by LeBron James [6] associate William Wesley, who previously was campaigning for John Calipari [7]. The rumor is that James would be interested in playing the triangle offense made popular by Phil Jackson [8], and Shaw has spent five seasons alongside Jackson learning the intricacies of the offense.

A side note: Creative Artists Agency, with whom Thibodeau recently signed, also represents James and fellow high-profile free agents Dwyane Wade [9] and Chris Bosh.

The Yahoo!Sports report notes that Thibodeau risks losing out on the Hornets job if he decides to wait on the Bulls and/or Nets. Trail Blazers assistant Monty Williams reportedly is the Hornets’ second choice, with some players, including star guard Chris Paul [10], said to prefer Williams.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/31/report-thibodeau-in-running-for-bulls-job/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Tom Thibodeau: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tom-thibodeau.htm

[3] Yahoo!Sports: http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news?slug=ys-thibodeauhornets053010

[4] Daily Herald: http://www.dailyherald.com/story/?id=384732&src=150

[5] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[6] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[7] John Calipari: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-john-calipari.htm

[8] Phil Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phil-jackson.htm

[9] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[10] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[11] > Report: Thibodeau in running for Bulls job" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/05/31/report-thibodeau-in-running-for-bulls-job/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.