- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Finals have a different feeling

Posted By Jessica Camerato On June 3, 2010 @ 8:58 pm In General | No Comments

LOS ANGELES -  It has only been two years since the Celtics [1] suited up for Game 1 of the 2008 NBA finals [2]. The majority of the faces are the same, but what about the feeling?

‘€œI wasn’€™t really nervous Game 1 of the Finals. I’€™m not really nervous right now,’€œ said Rajon Rondo [3]. ‘€œIt’€™s kind of hard to tell right now until the lights actually go on and there’€™s two minutes left ticking down. Right now it’€™s no big deal, it’€™s the same thing.’€

The emotions are different this time around. In 2008, the Celtics were suddenly thrust from the lottery to the finals after acquiring Ray Allen [4] and Kevin Garnett [5]. This season, they know what it takes to win it all and are trying to recreate the success they achieved two years earlier.

‘€œI think we’€™re more poised than we were last time. I think that’€™s the biggest difference. I don’€™t think the stage is as big a deal as the game plan. We’€™re more focused on the game plan than the finals,’€ said Brian Scalabrine [6].

‘€œIt’€™s the second time around, we’€™ve been there. We’€™ve done it before and there’€™s nothing really that surprises you. We know it’€™s going to be crowded out there, we know media day is going to be crazy, we didn’€™t know any of that. The intensity of this team in ’08 was different. It was a more high-strung team, we’€™re much more laidback. That’€™s not a bad thing. We can compartmentalize better than we did in ’08.’€

Doc Rivers [7] is prepared either way.

‘€œIn some ways we have the same starters, but the bench is completely different,’€ he said. ‘€œFor some of the guys, this is their first time around. So you have to kind of watch their emotions. And even some of the guys who were on the bench last year, the last time when they were not in the rotation as much. Then in a lot of ways, it’€™s their first time. ‘€¦ We’€™ve got a veteran group, so we know what we’€™re in store for.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/03/finals-have-a-different-feeling/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] NBA finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] > Finals have a different feeling" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/03/finals-have-a-different-feeling/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.