- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Jackson: It’s going to be highly charged

Posted By Paul Flannery On June 6, 2010 @ 7:42 pm In General | 2 Comments

LOS ANGELES — The Lakers took Game 1 of the NBA finals [1] in such a decisive manner that it would be tempting for them to think that they have things figured out against the Celtics [2]. However, they have no illusions that Game 2 is going to resemble Game 1.

“It may have been first-game jitters,” Ron Artest [3] said Friday. “We’re not expecting another game like that at all. They had a tough road in the East and faced a lot of adversity. That team, the Celtics, is special. We all respect that.”

Phil Jackson [4] reiterated that point Sunday before Game 2.

“The response is usually, not always but usually, the team that has taken a loss,” Jackson said. “The adjustments and the response and we anticipate that’s going to happen tonight. It’s going to be a much more tight game, I think, going down the stretch. We anticipate the game is going to be highly-charged, there’s no doubt about that.”

For their part, the atmosphere in the Celtics locker room was business-like. Assistant coach Tom Thibodeau [5] was spotted poring over film, while players mostly brushed off media inquiries.

In terms of adjustments, the Celtics aren’t tipping their hand although it seems likely that Paul Pierce [6] may see more time on Kobe Bryant [7], particularly if Ray Allen [8] gets in foul trouble again. Marquis Daniels [9] is also on the active list and if nothing else he’s another body to throw at Bryant.

“We do what we do,” Doc Rivers [10] said. “We didn’t do it. You can’t start changing because that’s not who you are and that would affect your team more than anything.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/06/jackson-highly-charged/

URLs in this post:

[1] NBA finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ron Artest: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ron-artest.htm

[4] Phil Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phil-jackson.htm

[5] Tom Thibodeau: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tom-thibodeau.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[10] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[11] > Jackson: It’s going to be highly charged" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/06/jackson-highly-charged/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.