- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics, Lakers look ahead to Game 5

Posted By Jessica Camerato On June 12, 2010 @ 3:56 pm In General | 2 Comments

On Saturday the Celtics [1] and Lakers prepared for Game 5 of the NBA finals [2]. The players kept the same mentality that every game, not just the upcoming 2-2 tie-breaker, is a must-win. Here are a few soundbites from Saturday’s practice:

Big Baby knows his role: Glen Davis [3] isn’t getting ahead of himself after scoring 18 points in Game 4. He understands his job on the team and is more focused on fulfilling his role than living up to any expectations set by his performance.

“It’€™s not my job to go out there and score points,” he said. “So [when people say] he’€™s not going to do that again, if I have to do it again, I will. But I’€™m not the primary scorer on the team. I’€™m not the go-to guy in the clutch. I’€™m just a guy that goes out there, don’€™t have no plays called for me, just goes out there and plays the game like it’€™s supposed to be played, and that’€™s all will and determination to get the game won. So if I don’€™t score at all next game, I know my effort and just the will to win will be there. And that feels even greater to me, especially if we get the win.”

Giving Kobe a break: Minutes have been a concern for the Celtics the entire season, and Phil Jackson [4] is conscious of  it too. Kobe Bryant [5] is averaging 40 minutes through the first four contests, but Jackson wants to conserve his energy for the most critical minutes of the game.

“They like to get Tony Allen [6] in there to make him really have to work, get a body on him,” said Jackson. “I’ve got to find a little space and time for him to give him some rest in that situation so he can come back with renewed energy. But after he’s played 30-plus minutes, to have that kind of energy to finish a game out is important to us, and we’ve got to get that back.”

Perkins gets technical with Sheed: Both Kendrick Perkins [7] and Rasheed Wallace [8] are a technical foul away from an automatic one-game suspension. Perkins has sought out advice from Kevin Garnett [9] in the past, and now he has offered advice to Wallace on how to avoid being called for number seven. The Celtics were happy to hear of Perkins’ conversation.

“Whatever works because we need both those guys,” said Paul Pierce [10]. “Those technicals, they can hurt you if we lose either one of those guys. Whatever Kendrick does for Sheed, whatever Sheed does for Kendrick, I hope they realize we need these guys in there for all of them. And whatever they can do, I’m all for it.”

Rivers addresses “flopping” comments: Following the Lakers Game 3 victory, Doc Rivers [11] was asked about Derek Fisher’s ability to get through screens. Rivers began his response by saying, “Derek? What, besides flopping, he doesn’t do a lot extra.”

On Saturday, Rivers clarified his comments. “It’s funny, what I was saying about Fish the other day, I said he flops, he’s good at it,” he said. “I think guys, they understand that and there are certain guys who have perfected it. To be a great flopper, you have to be a great charge-taker too. … Fish and me and John Stockton [12], you can go through the list, they took charges and flopped on half of them too. It’s tough. It’s  a tough call. He’s good.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/12/celtics-lakers-look-ahead-to-game-5/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] NBA finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[3] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[4] Phil Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phil-jackson.htm

[5] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[6] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[7] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[8] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[9] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[10] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[11] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[12] John Stockton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-stockton.htm

[13] > Celtics, Lakers look ahead to Game 5" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/12/celtics-lakers-look-ahead-to-game-5/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.