- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

5 Things that Went Wrong in Game 7

Posted By Jessica Camerato On June 18, 2010 @ 12:07 am In General | 89 Comments

The Celtics [1] lost Game 7 of the NBA Finals [2] to the Lakers in Los Angeles on Thursday night, 83-79, falling short of their 18th championship. Here are five things that went wrong in the deciding game. (Click here for a recap of the Celtics’ loss.) [3]

1. The Celtics gave it away - The Celtics were in control. They had the momentum and the confidence to get it done ‘€¦ before they let it all slip away. The Celtics led by 10 with seven minutes to go in the third quarter and had taken away the Lakers biggest weapon. But they began to miss shots and the Lakers were there to grab the rebounds. The C’€™s scored just three points in the final four minutes of the quarter and only led by four going into the final 12 minutes. The Lakers immediately got within two points seconds into the fourth, while the Celtics did not score for nearly three minutes. Bryant made three free throws to cut the Celtics advantage to one, and banked another two minutes later to give the Lakers the lead. Bryant scored four consecutive points to pull the Lakers ahead by four with 5:22 left, and they never looked back. The Celtics played catch up for the rest of the game as Bryant, Ron Artest [4], and Pau Gasol [5] made critical baskets.

2. Kobe Bryant [6] - The Celtics have battled past superstars the entire postseason, each time prevailing with team basketball. But after defeating Dwyane Wade [7], LeBron James [8], and Dwight Howard [9], they could not overcome the individual performance of Kobe Bryant. The Celtics held Bryant to just eight points (3-14 FG) in 22 minutes in the first half. When Bryant began to find his rhythm, though, the C’€™s failed to find an answer. Bryant scored 15 points in the second half, including four straight to tie the game and give the Lakers the lead with less than six minutes left. He finished the night with 23 points. It wasn’€™t his best offensive performance, but he made the shots when it counted.

3. Rebounding – The Celtics have said the entire series that the team that wins the rebounding war wins the game. On Thursday, they won neither. The Lakers outrebounded the Celtics, 53-40, including 23 offensive boards. This can’€™t be pinned on the injury of Kendrick Perkins [10], either. He alone doesn’€™t account for a 13-rebound differential. The Celtics had players capable of rebounding, but in the end, Pau Gasol and Kobe Bryant combined for 33 boards while only Paul Pierce [11] rebounded in double-digits for the C’s. Kevin Garnett [12], who the Celtics desperately needed defensively, grabbed just three rebounds.

4. Ray Allen [13] - His monumental 3-point performance is all but forgotten after Ray Allen’€™s offensive struggles continued through Game 7. Allen shot just 3-for-14 from the field and scored 13 points. While he deserves credit for playing tough D on Bryant, his lack of production at the basket hurt the Celtics in a situation where they needed everyone scoring at full potential.

5. They Played Lakers Ball - The Celtics dominated the first half by feeding off their fundamentals of tough defense and team basketball. In the second half, however, it became showtime for Bryant and the Lakers. The Celtics failed to put together productive offensive possessions, rushed shots, and attempted forced baskets. In the end, they were forced to put the Lakers at the line, where they were outscored 25-15. They C’s began the season by beating the Cavaliers [14] in Cleveland with Celtics basketball, and ended it by losing to the Lakers in Los Angeles by falling victim to their opponent’s game.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/18/5-things-that-went-wrong-in-game-7/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[3] (Click here for a recap of the Celtics’ loss.): http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?lg=NBA&g=2010061713

[4] Ron Artest: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ron-artest.htm

[5] Pau Gasol: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[6] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[7] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[8] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[9] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[10] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[11] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[12] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[13] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[14] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[15] > 5 Things that Went Wrong in Game 7" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/06/18/5-things-that-went-wrong-in-game-7/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.