- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Latest big man linked to C’s: Jermaine O’Neal

Posted By Paul Flannery On July 7, 2010 @ 4:56 pm In General | 3 Comments

Free agent center Jermaine O’Neal [1] is the latest big man to be linked to the Celtics [2]. He told ESPN’s Marc Stein [3] that he was considering the Celtics along with the Mavericks and Nuggets.

O’Neal joins Brad Miller [4], Shaquille O’Neal [5], Brendan Haywood [6] and Kwame Brown [7] in the race for the Celtics’ mid-level exception and a chance to replace the injured Kendrick Perkins [8]. Brown is obviously the least accomplished of that group.

The Celtics made O’Neal look terrible in the playoffs, but he’s younger than Miller and Shaq and, playoffs aide, O’Neal had a good season with Miami in 2009-10. He appeared in 70 games for the first time since 2003-04 and he shot over 50 percent for the first time in his career en route to averaging 13 points and seven rebounds a game.

It’s expected that the free agent logjam will open up once LeBron James [9] make his decision Thursday. O’Neal was not expected to re-sign with the Heat, an expectation that became reality once Chris Bosh announced he was going to Miami with Dwyane Wade [10].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/07/07/latest-big-man-linked-to-cs-jermaine-oneal/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] He told ESPN’s Marc Stein: http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=5361625

[4] Brad Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brad-miller-bulls.htm

[5] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[6] Brendan Haywood: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brendan-haywood.htm

[7] Kwame Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kwame-brown.htm

[8] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[9] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[10] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[11] > Latest big man linked to C’s: Jermaine O’Neal" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/07/07/latest-big-man-linked-to-cs-jermaine-oneal/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.