- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rondo to try out for USA 2010 World Championships team

Posted By Sam Dykstra On July 12, 2010 @ 11:20 am In General | No Comments

Celtics [1] point guard Rajon Rondo [2] will be added to the Team USA tryout roster for the 2010 World Championships. Rondo had asked to be left off the roster because of a family commitment, but he appears to have changed his summer plans. He will join 21 other players who will be fighting for a roster spot when they attend the team’s July 20-24 training camp in Las Vegas.

“We got confirmation [Saturday night] that Rondo will come,” USA Basketball chairman Jerry Colangelo told AOL FanHouse. “We’re very pleased to have Rondo with us. He’s very enthusiastic [about representing Team USA]. We feel very comfortable with where we’re at.”

The only player to be guaranteed a spot thus far is Thunder forward Kevin Durant [3]. Rondo will have some stiff competition at the point guard position as he goes up against Chauncey Billups [4], Russell Westbrook [5] and Stephen Curry as well as the two most recent Rookies of the Year in Tyreke Evans [6] and Derrick Rose [7].

The entire roster from the gold medal team at the 2008 Olympics, including Kobe Bryant [8], LeBron James [9], Dwyane Wade [10] and Dwight Howard [11], will not be participating this time around for a variety of reasons, ranging from injuries to a hectic summer schedule.

The roster needs to be trimmed to 12 by Aug. 26 for the start of the event in Turkey.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/07/12/report-rondo-to-play-for-usa-at-2010-worlds/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Kevin Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[4] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[5] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[6] Tyreke Evans: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyreke-evans.htm

[7] Derrick Rose: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-rose.htm

[8] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[9] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[10] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[11] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[12] > Rondo to try out for USA 2010 World Championships team" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/07/12/report-rondo-to-play-for-usa-at-2010-worlds/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.