- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics: Morning Irish Coffee

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On September 24, 2010 @ 9:11 am In General | 2 Comments

Interesting read [1] from Fan House on former Celtics [2] guard Nate Archibald, who hopes to become the only guy on the NBA’s 50 Greatest Players list to earn a Ph.D. in education. A member of Boston’s 1981 championship team, Tiny entered the NBA in 1970 without a college degree, earning his bachelor’s degree at UTEP during summers off and getting his master’s at night from Fordham.

“It might not be a big deal to some people, but to me, getting the Ph.D. will be my greatest accomplishment,” said Archibald in the piece. “I’m no Einstein, that’s for sure, and I’m not smarter than anyone else, but maybe I’ve been more persistent. And I understand the value of education.”

I don’t know about you, but I’m shocked to learn that most NBA players don’t have a Ph.D. Are we sure that Ron Artest [3] isn’t putting diplomas on his walls?

NBA Jersey Sales

For the third straight season, Kobe Bryant [4] tops the NBA’s list of highest-selling jerseys [5], but the Celtics placed three players in the league’s top 15: 3. Kevin Garnett [6]; 8. Paul Pierce [7]; and 11. Nate Robinson [8]. As a team, the Celtics rank No. 2 behind the Lakers in jersey sales. Semih Erden and Von Wafer [9] are yet to crack the top 15.

NBA 2K11 Player Ratings

The NBA 2K11 video game released its player ratings [10] for each team’s projected starting five. The Celtics have the third-highest average rating (80.2) in the game, behind the Heat and Lakers (tied at 82.2).

Rajon Rondo [11] (87) is Boston’s highest-rated player and the league’s fourth-ranked point guard (behind Dwyane Wade [12]-97, Chris Paul [13]-95 and Deron Williams-92).  No surprise there. Everywhere else? That’s a different question.

Pierce (83) is the sixth-rated player at his position (behind Andre Iguadola and Gerald Wallace [14]?). Garnett ranks eighth among power forwards (behind David Lee [15] and Josh Smith?). Ray Allen [16] is the 12th-ranked shooting guard (behind OJ Mayo, Stephen Jackson [17] and Vince Carter [18]?). And Kendrick Perkins [19] (72 when healthy) is ranked 16th among centers (behind Greg Oden [20], Marc Gasol, Ben Wallace [21] and Andrea Bargnani?).

Celtics Scratch Ticket

The Celtics haven’t been in the NBA lottery since 2007, but they released a scratch ticket [22] called “Celtics Cash.” Apparently, there’s more than $20 million dollars in prizes, so the good news for fans is that combined they’ll make less than Garnett ($21.2 million) this season!

NBA’s New Uniforms

The NBA unveiled new uniforms [23] for all 30 teams. Don’t worry. They’re just lighter fitting, like when George Costanza introduced cotton unis [24] to the Yankees [25]. The Celtics are one of three teams–along with the Bulls and Blazers–that will stick with the traditional round-neck tanktop look, as opposed to the v-neck cutoff sleeves look. They’ll also be returning the tiny shorts [26] that Nate Archibald used to wear. Just kidding.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/09/24/celtics-morning-irish-coffee/

URLs in this post:

[1] Interesting read: http://nba.fanhouse.com/2010/09/21/knowledge-is-power-for-tiny-archibald/

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ron Artest: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ron-artest.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] list of highest-selling jerseys: http://www.nba.com/2010/news/04/28/jersey.sales/index.html

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[9] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[10] player ratings: http://www.operationsports.com/feature.php?id=1138

[11] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[12] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[13] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[14] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[15] David Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee.htm

[16] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[17] Stephen Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephen-jackson.htm

[18] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[19] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[20] Greg Oden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-oden.htm

[21] Ben Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-wallace.htm

[22] a scratch ticket: http://www.boston.com/business/ticker/2010/09/lottery_launche.html

[23] new uniforms: http://www.nba.com/2010/news/09/21/adidas-uniforms/index.html

[24] introduced cotton unis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZFwhjOy72c

[25] the Yankees: http://media.weei.com/baseball/new-york-yankees.htm

[26] tiny shorts: http://www.geoclan.com/sports/articles/08/images/tiny.jpg

[27] > Celtics: Morning Irish Coffee" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/09/24/celtics-morning-irish-coffee/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[28]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.