- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: C’s waive Oliver Lafayette

Posted By Paul Flannery On September 25, 2010 @ 1:59 pm In General | 1 Comment

On the eve of opening training camp the Celtics [1] have waived guard Oliver Lafayette, according to a report on the Herald’s website [2].

Lafayette was a longshot to make the roster with Rajon Rondo [3], Nate Robinson [4] and possibly rookie Avery Bradley [5] slotted ahead of him, but no doubt he would have liked the opportunity to compete.

Lafayette played well during the Orlando summer league and looks like a player who can stick on an NBA roster in the right circumstances. He also performed well with Fort Wayne in the D-League, averaging over 17 points and six assists per game.

The move leaves the Celtics with 16 players on their training camp, and it seems likely they will add a few more. Competition for roster spots will be fierce, however, because the C’s have 13 players on guaranteed contracts.

That leaves Delonte West [6], Von Wafer [7] and Tony Gaffney fighting for two spots. Danny Ainge spoke enthusiastically about West before the team’s annual charitable golf outing. West is facing a 10-game suspension to start the season, so it’s possible that Wafer, or another veteran, could serve as insurance until he is able to return.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/09/25/report-cs-waive-oliver-lafayette/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] report on the Herald’s website: http://www.bostonherald.com/blogs/sports/celtics/index.php/2010/09/24/cs-waive-lafayette/

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[5] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[6] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[7] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[8] > Report: C’s waive Oliver Lafayette" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/09/25/report-cs-waive-oliver-lafayette/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.