- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

The NBA 30 on 30: Blogosphere Forecast (5 of 7)

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 26, 2010 @ 12:13 pm In General | 2 Comments

NBA fans live a team’s ups and downs. They react to every draft pick, trade and free-agent signing. They debate the merits of the 15th man. They find significance in the most insignificant stats. They simply KNOW their team. So, too, do bloggers. That’s why we sought the opinion of the league’s best blogs — one for each of the 30 teams — to break down the team they cover and, of course, the Celtics [1].

We’ll move to the Eastern Conference’s Southeast Division with the fifth of a seven-part  series (Don’t forget to check out Part 1 [2], Part 2 [3], Part 3 [4] and Part 4 [5]) …


ATLANTA HAWKS [6]
by Jason Walker, Peachtree Hoops [7]

ON THE HAWKS: The Hawks spent the summer, once again, reinvesting in the status quo (see Johnson, Joe), which has seen them improve on their record every season since their 13-win nadir in 2004-05.

The major changes were on the bench, where the team replaced Mike Woodson [8] with longtime assistant Larry Drew. Gone are the constant switching defensively and the heavy reliance on iso-sets offensively in favor of a motion offense and playing it straight defensively.

Such change should result in a rise in turnovers, a stat that has always kept the Hawks’ offensive efficiency near the top of the NBA but also kept their best defenders, Josh Smith and Al Horford, in better positions to help the team defensively.

The Hawks were also very fortunate last year in terms of injuries, so their lack of depth didn’t harm them in terms of their regular-season record.

Between the adjustment to new schemes and a likely injury or two to the main core, the Hawks should see the end of their annual increase in win total, but the continued improvement in their younger players (Smith, Horford, Marvin Williams [9] and Jeff Teague [10]) should help balance that somewhat, giving them another 50-win season, fourth in the conference — and getting bounced again in the second round of the playoffs.

ON THE CELTICS: The Celtics have a good thing going … and going … and going with Paul Pierce [11], Kevin Garnett [12] and Ray Allen [13], led by one of the most exciting players in basketball in Rajon Rondo [14].

The true test of whether your franchise is a contender is when the regular season predictions don’t mean jack squat, and the C’s have been in that neighborhood ever since acquiring KG and Ray. It’s a great place to be, and this season is no different.

With a plethora of big men (Shaquille O’Neal [15], Jermaine O’Neal [16] and Glen Davis [17]) to supplement the core roster in case of any injury up front due to age (and there is considerable age there), Boston should be able to capture home-court again, which makes them a very tough out come postseason time, as they proved so well last season.

I believe they’re a lock for the Eastern Conference Finals.


CHARLOTTE BOBCATS [18]
by David Arnott, Rufus on Fire [19]

ON THE BOBCATS: The Bobcats will have a huge hurdle to overcome this season, having lost their starting point guard and starting center (Raymond Felton [20] and Tyson Chandler [21]).

Barring a trade, they’re looking to replace them with D.J. Augustin, a young player Larry Brown [22] seems to despise, and Nazr Mohammed, a center whose sell-by date is long-since passed (last season’s career year notwithstanding).

Even if Gerald Wallace [23] remains an All-Star, and Stephen Jackson [24] and Tyrus Thomas [25] continue playing as well as they did last season for the Cats, they’re going to struggle to get to 40 wins — and could easily finish with near 30 wins.

ON THE CELTICS: The Celtics’ window could be closed this season, given the likely continued decline of Pierce, Garnett and Allen.

There’s also no telling, really, how much Tom Thibodeau [26] meant to the Celtics’ defensive excellence the past few years, and any kind of decline on that end of the floor might be the death knell for them as true title contenders, since no one on the team is a killer offensive threat.

So, give them 50 wins again.


MIAMI HEAT [27]
by Benny Vargas, All U Can Heat [28]

ON THE HEAT: After a much ballyhooed offseason, the Heat enter the 2010-11 season as legitimate title contenders.

The additions of Chris Bosh and LeBron James [29] along with the re-signing of Dwyane Wade [30] has caused a seismic wave throughout the league, which could signal the beginning of a new NBA dynasty on South Beach.

Miami will have to battle through glaring holes at the 1 and 5 spots, despite their newly assembled constellation of stars.

The Heat must find a way to become a cohesive unit, within an 82-game span, leading into the playoffs. Once the postseason gets underway, expect Miami to face difficult obstacles in Boston and Orlando. Both teams have been together longer and have big edges at the center and point guard positions.

Predicting Miami’s season is difficult, because so many factors come into play. Look for the Heat to make the Eastern Conference Finals vs. Boston and for the series to go seven games with the decisive contest being held in Miami.

The Heat will have a stellar regular season, earning the top seed in the East, but don’t expect them to match the record-setting 72 wins that the 1995-96 Chicago Bulls [31] managed to get.

ON THE CELTICS: While Vegas odds-makers have listed the flashy names on the Heat lineup as favorites to win the Eastern Conference, one has to love the Celtics’ chances.

Boston solidified their roster this offseason with several free-agent signings. The additions only help to strengthen a team that was a Kendrick Perkins [32] injury or a few more key rebounds away from winning an NBA title.

Boston has All-Stars at every position on the floor. While Allen declined a bit last year, Rondo’s emergence as an elite NBA player compensated for the slip in Allen’s game. KG and Shaq must be held back a bit during the regular season, so they can be healthy and rested for the playoffs.

Expect to see Boston easily win the Atlantic Division but to finish with the third seed for the playoffs. The Celtics showed last year that they don’t need to overexert themselves for 82 games in order to have postseason success.

No matter their seeding, the Celtics should be considered the Eastern Conference favorites once the playoffs begin. In the end, it will be Boston and Miami squaring off for a chance to dethrone the Lakers.


ORLANDO MAGIC [33]
by Evan Dunlap, Orlando Pinstriped Post [34]

ON THE MAGIC: I’m expecting bounce-back seasons from Vince Carter [35] and Jameer Nelson, as well as another year of improvement for Dwight Howard [36].

I’ve pegged them for 62 wins, because although the East got stronger this offseason, the Magic certainly didn’t decline in talent level from the last two seasons, when they won 59 games apiece.

Carter worked hard on his body this offseason and appears to be much more comfortable on the floor. His jumper has rarely even caught the rim in preseason, as he’s getting his body square and legs into the shot before firing away.

Orlando brought Quentin Richardson [37] aboard, largely due to his 3-point shooting, which will force the Celtics to think twice about leaving him open. The Celtics exposed Orlando in the conference finals last season by utterly ignoring Matt Barnes [38] on the perimeter, due to his unreliable outside shot, which freed them to pack the paint, stymieing Howard inside and shutting down driving lanes for Carter and Nelson. Clearly, Richardson will be one key against Boston.

Orlando will likely win far more games than the Celtics do this season, but don’t let that disparity fool you: If these teams meet for the third consecutive postseason, it’ll be anyone’s series.

ON THE CELTICS: The Celtics proved last season that they’re a tough team to peg, at least until the playoffs roll around.

Given the continuity in Boston’s locker room, at least as far as leadership is concerned, I expect another season of Doc Rivers [39] managing his players’ minutes closely, and the players conserving their energy.

This approach worked to great effect last year, as they took the defending champion Lakers to the brink in the Finals after most basketball observers counted them out, first against the Cavaliers [40] and then against the Magic.

Overall, I’ve pegged the Celtics for a win total in the mid-40s, likely 46-36. If that seems low, or insulting, to the Boston faithful, I think it’s instructive to point out the regular season doesn’t mean a whole lot to this team.

While I’m dubious that the Celtics can flip the switch again, so to speak, Rivers will keep that possibility open so long as he’s able to keep the veteran core fresh. And regardless of their health or engagement level, they’ll always be a tough matchup for the Magic.

The cost-effective additions of Shaquille and Jermaine O’Neal — along with Perkins — give Boston three of the top five Dwight Howard defenders in the league.


WASHINGTON WIZARDS [41]
by Beckley Mason, Truth About It [42]

ON THE WIZARDS: The Wizards enter the 2010-11 season with positive energy flowing out their ears.

John Wall [43] has already proven to be a man-child not only as an ankle-breaking wunderkind, but as a steady-handed floor marshal — unafraid to put veterans in their place, literally, on the basketball court.

But however solid Wall may be this year, the squad as a whole is perforated with imperfections. Gilbert Arenas [44] can’t guard anyone, only a couple players can hit 3s and the Wizards’ young posts have a history of weak rebounding and late help defense.

See, this is a team full of “you know, if…”s. Because, you know, if Gilbert stays healthy and embraces the off-ball responsibilities like he did in the preseason, if 30-year-old Josh Howard [45] returns to his near All-Star levels of play, if JaVale McGee builds on his breakout summer, if Andray Blatche [46] plays like he did down the stretch last year (21 points a game from January to March), and if Al Thornton eschews the mid-range game and focuses on becoming Count Dunkula, this could be a pretty good team.

That’s far too many ifs for the irresponsible optimism that pervades D.C. hoops fans — but an appropriate amount for a team heading into a 35-47 season.

ON THE CELTICS: Was the Celtics’ run to last year’s Finals the last violent spasm of a dying monster, or simply proof that the beast was slumbering throughout the regular season?

Rondo is superb (Hubie Brown voice) and the East’s best point guard, but the rest of the Celtics’ starting five is declining — that is, unless The Big Ticket really is bouncing back on that right knee.

Boston’s pride won 50 games last year and is replacing Perkins with the chalk outlines of the O’Neals, a significant downgrade defensively and offensively (KP is the best screener in the league). The frontcourt is deeper, but also less effective until Perk returns, and then at what level will he play?

The Celtics should also be concerned after losing Tony Allen [47], the East’s best perimeter defender and resident LeBron/Wade specialist. Who fills that void? Ray, Pierce, Nate Robinson [48], Delonte West [49] all fall well short defensively.

On any other team, these concerns would lead one to declare, “They will be worse than last year.” But this is the Celtics, who, like the Spurs in the West, must be taken seriously until emphatically proven otherwise. Most of the East sucks yet again, so 50-plus should be in the cards once more — 55-plus if Garnett is truly “back.”

Stay tuned for Part 6 of this seven-part series: the Eastern Conference’s Atlantic Division.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/26/the-nba-30-on-30-blogosphere-forecast-5-of-7/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Part 1: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/24/the-nba-30-on-30-blogosphere-forecast-1-of-7/

[3] Part 2: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/25/the-nba-30-on-30-blogosphere-forecast-2-of-7/

[4] Part 3: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/25/the-nba-30-on-30-blogosphere-forecast-3-of-7/

[5] Part 4: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/26/the-nba-30-on-30-blogosphere-forecast-4-of-7/

[6] ATLANTA HAWKS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/atlanta-hawks.htm

[7] Peachtree Hoops: http://www.peachtreehoops.com/

[8] Mike Woodson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mike-woodson.htm

[9] Marvin Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marvin-williams.htm

[10] Jeff Teague: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-teague.htm

[11] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[12] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[13] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[14] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[15] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[16] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[17] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[18] CHARLOTTE BOBCATS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[19] Rufus on Fire: http://www.rufusonfire.com/

[20] Raymond Felton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/raymond-felton.htm

[21] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[22] Larry Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/larry-brown.htm

[23] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[24] Stephen Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephen-jackson.htm

[25] Tyrus Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyrus-thomas.htm

[26] Tom Thibodeau: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tom-thibodeau.htm

[27] MIAMI HEAT: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[28] All U Can Heat: http://allucanheat.com/

[29] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[30] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[31] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[32] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[33] ORLANDO MAGIC: http://media.weei.com/basketball/orlando-magic.htm

[34] Orlando Pinstriped Post: http://www.orlandopinstripedpost.com/

[35] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[36] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[37] Quentin Richardson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/quentin-richardson.htm

[38] Matt Barnes: http://media.weei.com/basketball/matt-barnes.htm

[39] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[40] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[41] WASHINGTON WIZARDS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[42] Truth About It: http://www.truthaboutit.net/

[43] John Wall: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-wall.htm

[44] Gilbert Arenas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gilbert-arenas.htm

[45] Josh Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/josh-howard.htm

[46] Andray Blatche: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andray-blatche.htm

[47] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[48] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[49] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[50] > The NBA 30 on 30: Blogosphere Forecast (5 of 7)" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/26/the-nba-30-on-30-blogosphere-forecast-5-of-7/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[51]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.