- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast break: Celtics suffer letdown against Cavaliers

Posted By Paul Flannery On October 27, 2010 @ 9:54 pm In General | No Comments

It was the second night of the first back-to-back of the season and the Celtics [1] were playing in a decidedly different atmosphere than the one they experienced in Boston on Tuesday. Still, there are no viable excuses for the Celtics, who blew a fourth-quarter lead in a 95-87 loss to the Cavaliers [2]. (Recap [3].)

The Celtics played with fire throughout the game and it ultimately burned them, especially down the stretch where they were outscored, 13-3.

THREE THINGS THAT WENT WRONG

Too many turnovers: The main problem with the Celtics offense remains turnovers. They had 10 in the first half and another nine in the second. The Cavs wound up with nine more shots than the Celtics, one reason why they were able to win despite shooting under 45 percent.

Jermaine O’Neal [4] will need some time: Give Jermaine O’Neal credit for getting himself healthy enough to play after a variety of training camp injuries, but he was not effective at all in 12 lackluster minutes. O’Neal fouled out with two points — his first points of the season — along with three turnovers and two rebounds.

Fourth quarter techs: Nate Robinson [5] and Shaquille O’Neal [6] picked up technical fouls on the same play, which helped propel a Cavaliers run. Fourth-quarter techs are a major no-no for Doc Rivers [7].

THREE THINGS THAT WENT RIGHT

Kevin Garnett [8] looks fresh: Garnett had his second-straight double-digit rebounding game with 15 boards. There’s a long way to go, but Garnett looks so much more athletic than he did at this time last season.

Glen Davis [9] knows his role: The Celtics bench needs to fine-tune things, but Davis has assumed the role of sixth man. He saw action at both the center and power forward spots and scored 14 points to go with five rebounds in 33 minutes of action. He and Marquis Daniels [10] have been the top reserves.

Managing minutes: Rivers acknowledged that he played his veterans too many minutes in the opener, and despite the second-half run by the Cavs, he kept his starters on the bench and let his team play through it. Ray Allen [11] and Paul Pierce [12] went from 40 minutes down to the mid-30’s and Garnett clocked in at a more reasonable 30 minutes. Managing minutes may have cost the Celtics the game, but Rivers is going to keep the long view throughout the season.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/27/fast-break-celtics-suffer-letdown-against-cavaliers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[3] Recap: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2010102705&home=5&vis=2&final=true

[4] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[5] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[6] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[10] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[11] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[12] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[13] > Fast break: Celtics suffer letdown against Cavaliers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/10/27/fast-break-celtics-suffer-letdown-against-cavaliers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.