- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee: Celtics Halloween

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On November 1, 2010 @ 10:39 am In General | No Comments

Wake up with the Celtics [1] and your daily dose of Irish Coffee ‘€¦

After last night’s Twitter barrage from Shaquille O’Neal [2]‘s trek around Boston as Shaqeeta and the Celtics’ team Halloween party hosted by Ray Allen [3], how could we not rate their costumes? Here goes …

1. Shaquille O’Neal as “Shaqeeta”

2. Jermaine O’Neal [4] as “Mr. T”

3. Rajon Rondo [5] as “Tiger Woods [6]

4. David Ortiz [7] as “Wolverine”

5. Ray Allen as “Retro Ray”

6. Marquis Daniels [8] as “Reverend Daniels” 

7.  Kevin Garnett [9] as “DJ Lance Rock” (from “Yo Gabba Gabba! [10]“)

8. Paul Pierce [11] as “The Frog”  (from “The Princess and the Frog [12]“)

 9. Delonte West [13] as “V” (from “V for Vendetta [14]“)

 

10. Glen Davis [15] as “Big Baby”

Over the weekend, Celtics Blog’s Jimmy Toscano provided [16] us with a look back through the eyes of the Celtics at the ghost of Halloween past. He treated us to some sweet morsels …

  • Ray Allen: “I went anywhere that had those little Smarties candies in the plastic. You got so many of them. That’s what I ended up eating all the time. Then I got older and we just started throwing eggs at people’s houses.”
  • Glen Davis: “I was thinking about being Kazaam [17]. That would be funny.”
  • Nate Robinson [18]: “Then we used to snatch kids’ bags sometimes back in the day. Like kids that we knew would go out. I was young. I was like 10. I remember one time my friend snatched a kid’s bag and the dude’s dad chased him for so long. We were laughing.”
  • Kendrick Perkins [19]: “Got to be Snickers. Snickers, man. Ain’t nothing else. Nate’s a weirdo saying Candy Corn.”
  • Shaquille O’Neal: “My thing with Halloween was every time I used to go out, people used to look at me like, ‘You’re too big to be trick-or-treating.’ So I stopped at age 10, seriously.”

HONORING EARL LLOYD

Halloween also marked a truly momentous occasion in the NBA, the 60th anniversary of Earl Lloyd breaking the league’s color barrier.

Of course, Charles Cooper became the first black player selected in the NBA Draft when the Celtics picked him in the second round of the 1960 draft, but Lloyd — a later-round pick — played a regular-season game with the Washington Capitols before Cooper saw any action.

The Orlando Sentinel had a wonderful piece [20] on the still-great man, including a tidbit about how Celtics legend Bill Sharman — then a Capitols teammate — gave Lloyd a ride to and from practice every day.

“Earl was always a very friendly and nice person,” Sharman wrote in an e-mail to the Orlando Sentinel. “It was easy to like him and be friends with him, and he didn’t have a car at that time, so I was happy to drive him to practices, etc. To me, there was no question that I would do that.”

KEVIN McHALE [21] ON BIG THREES

The Cleveland Plain Dealer’s Mary Schmitt Boyer posed this question [22] to Celtics Hall of Famer Kevin McHale: Are the Heat’s Three Amigos better than either of the C’s Big Threes — from the 1980s or the current bunch?

“I’ll tell you what,” McHale said. “You throw them all out there and let us all be 25, I’ll take my guys.”

In the same article, McHale’s fellow TNT broadcaster, Reggie Miller [23], said, “losing Game 7 and all the hype and talk about Miami” was the best thing for the Celtics, because it has rededicated the veterans – making them the team to beat in the East.

Really, Reggie? Losing Game 7 was the best thing for the Celtics? Yeah, I’m sure they’d rather have added motivation this season than a second NBA title in three years against their archrival. That totally makes sense.

Also, Sports Illustrated’s Ian Thomsen had an interesting take [24] on LeBron James [25]‘ decision. Thomsen, who predicted a third straight MVP award for James, said that the reason James had to form a Big Three in Miami was to build a team that could compete with the Lakers and Celtics. He argued that Michael Jordan [26] never had to face teams of their caliber.

Speaking of “The Decision,” LeBron finally admitted that he would have done it differently, telling ESPN [27]:

“If I had to go back on it, I probably would do it a little bit different. But I’m happy with the decision I made. There’s always going to be a misunderstanding. I don’t know what I would have done, but I definitely would have changed it.”

Gee, it only took you four months to figure that out? I have an idea for how you could have done it differently: Don’t announce your decision on an hour-long TV special, stabbing your old team in the back by not telling them beforehand. Just a suggestion.

NEXT STEP AFTER HARVARD: NBA

Former Harvard University point guard Jeremy Lin [28] beat the odds, becoming just the third Asian American and fourth Harvard graduate to play in the NBA. After an impressive preseason, he made the Golden State Warriors [29].

The Los Angeles Times had a nice piece [30] on him over the weekend.

(Have a question, concern or conception for tomorrow’s Irish Coffee? Send a message to @brohrbach [31] on Twitter.)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/01/irish-coffee-celtics-halloween/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Tiger Woods: http://media.weei.com/golf/tiger-woods.htm

[7] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[8] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[9] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[10] Yo Gabba Gabba!: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0877512/

[11] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[12] The Princess and the Frog: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0780521/

[13] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[14] V for Vendetta: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0434409/

[15] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[16] provided: http://www.celticsblog.com/2010/10/30/1783999/boo-halloween-night-with-green-and-white

[17] Kazaam: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116756/

[18] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[19] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[20] a wonderful piece: http://www.orlandosentinel.com/sports/os-earl-lloyd-nba-pioneer-1031-20101030,0,5896959.story?page=1

[21] KEVIN McHALE: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-mchale.htm

[22] posed this question: http://www.cleveland.com/cavs/index.ssf/2010/10/are_the_heats_amigos_better_th.html

[23] Reggie Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-miller.htm

[24] an interesting take: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/writers/ian_thomsen/10/28/mailbag/

[25] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[26] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[27] telling ESPN: http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/truehoop/miamiheat/news/story?id=5749163

[28] Jeremy Lin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeremy-lin.htm

[29] Golden State Warriors: http://media.weei.com/basketball/golden-state-warriors.htm

[30] a nice piece: http://articles.latimes.com/2010/oct/30/sports/la-sp-warriors-jeremy-lin-20101031

[31] @brohrbach: http://twitter.com/brohrbach

[32] > Irish Coffee: Celtics Halloween" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/01/irish-coffee-celtics-halloween/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[33]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.