- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics silence Thunder

Posted By Paul Flannery On November 7, 2010 @ 10:25 pm In General | No Comments

After beating Oklahoma City, 92-83 Sunday night, the Celtics [1] have now won five straight games and six of their first seven, but they have not played a better 24 minutes of basketball than they did in the first half. There’s a decent chance the Celtics won’t play a better 24 minutes all season.

Of course NBA games last longer than 24 minutes and the Thunder made their inevitable run late in the third quarter and into the early stages of the fourth, cutting the Celtics lead to six. But this time it was the bench that saved the day as Glen Davis [2] knocked down a couple of shots.

Ray Allen [3] scored 19 points. Paul Pierce [4] had 17 and Rajon Rondo [5] had a tidy 10 points and 10 assists. The bench outscored OKC’s, 33-12. Add it all up and it equals the Celtics best win of the season.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Turnovers, or more specifically, the lack of turnovers: It’s really a simple equation for the Celtics. When they don’t turn the ball over they are almost impossible to stop because they shoot such a high percentage and almost everyone on the roster is a shooting threat.

The Celtics turned it over only four times in the first and that helped them build a 58-37 lead. They turned it over four times in the third quarter and that’s when OKC made its run. It’s really that simple for the Celtics right now.

The bench: Glen Davis and Marquis Daniels [6] have been constants for the Celtics this season, but they received contributions from everyone in the rotation Sunday. Nate Robinson [7] had nine points including a buzzer-beater 3 to the end the first half and Semih Erden also gave the Celtics quality minutes. They were even better in the second half as they helped stave off a big OKC run.

Ray Allen has his shot back: Did it ever actually leave? A handful of off shooting nights is no reason to panic when it comes to Allen and he showed again Sunday night why he is one of the best in the business.  Allen knocked down 8-of-16 shots and scored 19 points. He also made big shots. He was on the floor with the reserves in the fourth quarter when the Celtics made their last move, proving once again how valuable he is.

WHAT WENT WRONG

The third quarter: It was unlikely the Celtics would be able to keep up their first-half play for 48 minutes, but they started the second half like they were going to try, opening a 71-51 lead. But the Thunder came right back led by Westbrook and Kevin Durant [8], who scored 14 of his 34 points.

Second half runs are inevitable after a visiting team opens up a big second-half lead, particularly when the opponent is as good as Oklahoma City. What was encouraging for the Celtics was that they held it off and rebuild the lead.

That was really the only thing that didn’t go right. When you beat Oklahoma City by nine points in their building to start a four-game road trip, there’s not much to apologize for.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/07/fast-break-celtics-silence-thunder/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[7] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[8] Kevin Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[9] > Fast Break: Celtics silence Thunder" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/07/fast-break-celtics-silence-thunder/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.