- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee: Top 5 Celtics fan dances

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On November 19, 2010 @ 10:46 am In General | 1 Comment

Wake up with the Celtics [1] and your daily dose of Irish Coffee ‘€¦

It’s Irish Coffee’s version of a free-form Friday. One of my guilty pleasures in the Garden is watching the Jumbotron shenanigans during timeouts. So, just for fun, let’s take a look at the top five dances caught on tape at Celtics games …

1. The world-famous Bon Jovi dance.

2. A 7-year-old teaches Soulja Boy how to move.

3. A storm trooper dominates the disco (at the 1:10 mark).

4. A redhead breaks out the big guns.

5. Mr. Roboto dances to “Beat It” and kills it.

LASME COMES UP LAME

So much for the “call up Stephane Lasme and cut Von Wafer [2]” discussion. The one-time UMass standout and final roster cut of the Celtics reportedly [3] suffered a stress fracture in his left foot and underwent surgery.

Now, if the C’s opt for further depth in the post, they’ll have to turn to Magnum Rolle or Tiny Gallon on the Maine Red Claws.

CAST YOUR ALL-STAR BALLOT

The NBA released the 2011 All-Star Game ballot [4], and all five Celtics starters made the cut. That’s not nearly as ridiculous as some of the names listed. Here are the worst of the bunch:

  • Mario Chalmers [5]: He’s tearing up the league to the tune of 1.1 points and 1.4 assists per game.
  • Carlos Boozer: He’s only been injured all year, but maybe he got nominated as the best-dressed player in the league?
  • Linas Kleiza: I forgot he was even in the league (if you consider the Raptors part of the league).
  • Corey Brewer [6]: Well, he is the fifth-leading scorer on a 4-9 Timberwolves [7] team.
  • Derek Fisher: In the discussion of great point guards out West, he’s right up there with Chris Paul [8] and Deron Williams. Oh, wait, no he’s not.

ARENAS HEAPS PRAISE ON RONDO

Count Gilbert Arenas [9] among the many NBA players whose attention Rajon Rondo [10] has grabbed this season. He raved about Rondo after Wednesday night’s 31-point loss to the Celtics …

“As a point guard, uh, former point guard watching what he’s done with his talent, it’s amazing,” Arenas told [11] the Washington Post. “With players like Rondo, Steve Nash [12], point guards that have the ball so much, you have the ball so much that you’re going to have assists. Just run around finding players. He’s great at it. It’s amazing what people were saying when the Big Three first got here, and now he’s just come into his own.”

MORE FRIDAY VIDEO ENTERTAINMENT

After watching five videos of people dancing at Celtics games, if you feel like wasting more time at work on this Friday morning, here are two more videos: 1) Justin Bieber gets booed [13] in Boston for saying he’s a Lakers fan, and 2) Chris Bosh says [14] “[Erik Spoelstra [15] wants to work; we want to chill.” Good times.

(Have a question, concern or conception for tomorrow’€™s Irish Coffee? Send a message to @brohrbach [16] on Twitter.)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/19/irish-coffee-top-5-celtics-fan-dances/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[3] reportedly: http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4678172/lasme-out-indefinitely-after-surgery

[4] 2011 All-Star Game ballot: http://www.nba.com/allstar2011/asb/eng/landing.jsp?referrer=asb11_mainNews&cid=nba352

[5] Mario Chalmers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mario-chalmers.htm

[6] Corey Brewer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/corey-brewer.htm

[7] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[8] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[9] Gilbert Arenas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gilbert-arenas.htm

[10] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[11] told: http://voices.washingtonpost.com/wizardsinsider/2010/11/john-wall-was-leaving-the.html

[12] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[13] gets booed: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRGQErOHcgY

[14] says: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0OHiv9TTQM&feature=player_embedded

[15] Erik Spoelstra: http://media.weei.com/basketball/erik-spoelstra.htm

[16] @brohrbach: http://twitter.com/brohrbach

[17] > Irish Coffee: Top 5 Celtics fan dances" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/19/irish-coffee-top-5-celtics-fan-dances/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.