- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

An NBA Turkey Day Special

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On November 25, 2010 @ 8:00 am In General | No Comments

On this Thanksgiving Day special, we give you the top five NBA players ever to hail from Turkey. Get it? Turkey? Thanksgiving? Turkish players have had a long and storied history in the league, only the exact opposite. It may be a reach, but it’s also pretty awesome when you think about it. You get to say names like Ersan Ilyasova. Without further ado …

5. Chicago Bulls [1] 7-foot rookie center Omer Asik (O-mair A-sheek): Averaging 3.3 points and 0.8 points per game in 12 career appearances.

4. Boston Celtics [2] 7-foot rookie center Semih Erden (Seh-MEE EHRD-ehn): Averaging 3.4 points and 2.3 rebounds in 11 career appearances.

3. Milwaukee Bucks [3] 6-foot-10 third-year forward Ersan Ilyasova (ER-sahn Ill-ee-uh-SOH-vuh): Averaging 8.3 points and 4.8 rebounds per game in 160 career appearances.

2. Utah Jazz [4] 6-foot-11 nine-year veteran center Mehmet Okur (MEM-et Oh-KUHR): Averaging 13.9 points and 7.2 rebounds in 604 career appearances.

1. Phoenix Suns [5] 6-foot-10 11-year veteran forward Hedo Turkoglu [6] (HEE-doe TURK-uh-loo): Averaging 12.2 points, 4.3 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game in 766 career appearances.

 

The fist pump at the end of the Mehmet Okur commerical is amazing. Quick programming note: Irish Coffee will return on Monday morning. In the meantime, don’t forget to consume a few actual irish coffees over the Thanksgiving holiday break. Good times.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/25/an-nba-turkey-day-special/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[2] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Milwaukee Bucks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/milwaukee-bucks.htm

[4] Utah Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[5] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[6] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[7] > An NBA Turkey Day Special" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/25/an-nba-turkey-day-special/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.