- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Danny Ainge on Delonte West injury: ‘We’ll stay with our roster’

Posted By WEEI On November 25, 2010 @ 9:59 am In General | No Comments

Celtics [1] GM Danny Ainge told the Boston Globe [2] that he had no plans to make a trade to replace point guard Delonte West [3], who suffered a broken right wrist on Wednesday and could be out for months.

‘€œWe like our guys, and Avery [Bradley] is starting to get healthy and Avery and [Von Wafer [4]] are going to have to step up and play,’€™’€™ Ainge told the Globe. ‘€œIn order to make a move we’€™d have to let someone go and we like our guys. It’€™s tragic for Delonte. Basketball is a very important part of his life. I hate to see this happen. But Delonte will be able to return late in the season to help us.’€™’€™

West missed the first 10 games of the season, during which the Celtics went 8-2. However, the team’s depth at point guard has been further depleted by the absence of Rajon Rondo [5], who missed his third straight game on Wednesday and, according to Celtics coach Doc Rivers [6], could miss Friday’s contest as well.

Still, the Celtics have Nate Robinson [7] and Marquis Daniels [8] to play the position in addition to Rondo and Bradley.

“We like those guys when the season started and I like them even more now with the work they are putting in and this league is a league of opportunity,” Ainge said [9]. “So we’ll stay with our roster for now and see what we got.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/25/danny-ainge-on-delonte-west-injury-well-stay-with-our-roster/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] told the Boston Globe: http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/articles/2010/11/25/west_replacement_not_a_given/

[3] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[4] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] according to Celtics coach Doc Rivers: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/this-just-in/2160929/rajon-rondo-out-and-likely-friday-too

[7] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[8] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[9] Ainge said: http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/extras/celtics_blog/2010/11/ainge_celtics_h.html

[10] > Danny Ainge on Delonte West injury: ‘We’ll stay with our roster’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/25/danny-ainge-on-delonte-west-injury-well-stay-with-our-roster/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.