- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics handle Cavaliers

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On November 30, 2010 @ 9:36 pm In General | No Comments

Rajon Rondo [1] scored a season-high 23 points and dished out 11 assists, leading the Celtics [2] to a 106-87 victory against the Cavaliers [3] in Cleveland on Tuesday night.

Six Celtics reached double figures, including Glen Davis [4] and Marquis Daniels [5], who combined for 33 points off the bench. Kevin Garnett [6] contributed 11 points and 10 rebounds, as the Celtics won their fourth straight and improved to 13-4.

WHAT WENT WRIGHT

Bench contributions: In 84 total minutes off the bench, Daniels, Davis and Nate Robinson [7] combined for 41 points (on 17-of-34 shooting), 19 rebounds and six assists.

More importantly, their energy gave the Celtics a much-needed boost in the second quarter, as they outscored the Cavaliers 35-22 and built a comfortable 11-point lead at halftime.

Points in the paint: The Celtics absolutely obliterated the Cavaliers in the post, outscoring them 60-26 in the paint. Davis (17 points) and Garnett (11 points) led the way for the C’s. Pretty impressive, considering Shaquille O’Neal [8] (6) was relatively quiet on the night.

Attacking the basket: Rondo repeatedly blew past the revolving door of defense that was Mo Williams [9] and Ramon Sessions. He scored 16 of his 23 points around the bucket in addition to dishing out 11 more assists on dribble drives.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Thanksgiving weekend hangover: Whether it was rust from having Saturday and Sunday off or the Celtics not taking the Cavaliers seriously, the C’s looked sluggish early — digging themselves a 17-8 hole after the first six minutes. Anderson Varejao and Mo Williams combined for 11 points in that span.

Free throw shooting: The Celtics shot just 13-of-23 from the charity stripe. With a 74.6 combined free throw percentage, the Celtics entered Tuesday night’s game against the Cavaliers ranked 21st in the league.

Hickson’s yellow shoes: Wearing what may have been the ugliest shoes ever to appear on a basketball court, J.J. Hickson scored only one point in the game. His yellow sneakers were so awful that my girlfriend joked that the distraction they cause might be the secret to the Cavaliers’ semi-success this season.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/30/fast-break-celtics-handle-cavaliers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[4] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[5] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[8] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[9] Mo Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mo-williams.htm

[10] > Fast Break: Celtics handle Cavaliers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/11/30/fast-break-celtics-handle-cavaliers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.