- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics, Kevin Garnett sink Sixers

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On December 9, 2010 @ 11:04 pm In General | No Comments

Rajon Rondo [1] found Kevin Garnett [2] for an alley-oop layup with 1.4 seconds remaining, as the Celtics [3] stole their ninth consecutive victory — a 102-101 win over the 76ers in Philadelphia.

Ray Allen [4] (game-high 23 points) and Glen Davis [5] (16 points, 7 rebounds) also hit shots that put the Celtics up one in the final 1:04, but the Sixers regained the lead each time — until Garnett sealed the deal.

Rondo finished with 19 points and 14 assists.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Rondo’s offense: He might have been hobbled by a sore hamstring and sore feet, but even at 85 percent Rondo is better than anybody the 76ers have to defend him. And he took advantage of that, assuming the bulk of the C’s offensive load.

Rondo put up a double-double … through the first three quarters. When all was said and done, he finished with 19 points and 14 assists, including the game-clinching lob pass to Garnett with 1.4 seconds left.

3-Point shooting: As if the Celtics’ 56 percent shooting clip wasn’t impressive enough, their 3-point percentage was even better at 58 percent (7-of-12).

Nate Robinson [6] hit three of the six 3’s he took. Ray Allen drained 2-of-3, including a clutch trey that put the C’s up 98-97 with 1:04 remaining. Even Von Wafer [7] and Rondo knocked down a 3 apiece.

Energy off the bench: In 11 first-half minutes off the bench, Robinson scored nine points on 3-of-5 shooting. While the rest of the team looked somewhat disinterested and more than a step slow, he provided the necessary boost to keep the veteran Celtics in the ballgame on the second night of a back-to-back.

As usual, Glen Davis picked up where Robinson left off, totaling 16 points and seven rebounds by the end of the night — including a jump shot with 27 seconds remaining that put the Celtics up 100-99.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Crash the boards: The 76ers outrebounded the Celtics, 39-33, and 15 of those 33 Philadelphia boards came on the offensive glass. The C’s showed little interest in boxing out in the opening 24 minutes, as Elton Brand, Thaddeus Young and Spencer Hawes [8] combined for 14 first-half boards. That’s how the C’s entered the locker room with just a one-point lead, despite shooting 58 percent.

Transition defense: The Celtics showed just as much interest early in getting back on defense as they did in boxing out, allowing the 76ers to pile up 16 fast-break points in the first half. The pace slowed in the second half, as Philadelphia finished the game with 22 fast-break points.

The athleticism of Jrue Holiday (12 points, 6 assists) and Andre Iguadola (14 points, 11 assists), in particular, caused the C’s problems.

Under the weather: Paul Pierce [9] wasn’t feeling well before the game, and it showed throughout. He shot just 3-of-8 from the field and appeared a step slow on the defensive end. Somehow, though, Pierce still managed to play 40 minutes and post a near double-double (10 points, 8 rebounds).


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/12/09/fast-break-celtics-kevin-garnett-sink-sixers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[7] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[8] Spencer Hawes: http://media.weei.com/basketball/spencer-hawes.htm

[9] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[10] > Fast Break: Celtics, Kevin Garnett sink Sixers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/12/09/fast-break-celtics-kevin-garnett-sink-sixers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.