- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Lucky 13 for Celtics

Posted By Paul Flannery On December 19, 2010 @ 3:28 pm In General | 1 Comment

After beating the Pacers 99-88 Sunday afternoon at TD Garden, the Celtics [1] have now won 13 straight games. They didn’t play particularly well or efficient and it wasn’t aesthetically pleasing, but in order to keep that streak going, they’re going to have to do the kinds of things they did Sunday.

Yes, they gave up way too many offensive rebounds and the bench is woefully thin behind Glen Davis [2] and Marquis Daniels [3], but the Celtics have figured out a formula for winning regular season games. Get a lead with the starters and then turn it on defensively in the fourth quarter.

Three different players scored 18 points, including Davis off the bench and Ray Allen [4] added 17. They were balanced and they made the plays when they had to make them.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Paul Pierce [5] gave the game what it needed: That’s the phrase the Celtics captain likes to use to describe his contributions and in recording a triple-double he pretty much gave the Celtics everything they needed. Pierce didn’t do much scoring (18 points on just eight shots), but he was a distributor (12 assists) and helped Kevin Garnett [6] work the glass with 10 rebounds.

Pierce is playing some of the most responsible basketball of his career. That shouldn’t be viewed as faint praise. Garnett and Rondo have secured the headlines, and rightfully so, but Pierce remains the Celtics on-court leader.

Shaquille O’Neal [7] returned: Foul trouble limited Shaq’s time on the court, but after finishing Thursday’s game with just nine players, the Celtics welcomed the return of any player, let alone the big fella. Shaq wasted little time making his presence felt with 11 points in five minutes including an obscene posterization of Jeff Foster on an alley-oop.

Shaq played 22 minutes, which is right in line with the amount he had been playing and the Celtics needed it as Semih Erden was limited with a groin injury.

Nate Robinson [8] had a Nate Robinson game: With Rajon Rondo [9] out for the foreseeable future, it falls on Robinson to handle major minutes at the point. Robinson is not going to be Rondo. Not now, not ever. They are completely different players with different skill sets, but the one thing Robinson can do is provide instant offense and he was able to score 18 points.

Robinson also provided athletic, hustling plays all over the court and for that the Celtics will indulge him the occasional pull-up 3-pointer on the break.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Defensive rebounding: The Pacers shredded the Celtics on the boards in the first quarter, racking up six offensive rebounds. The Celtics were able to tighten up in the second, but the Pacers got up 50 shots in the first half, which allowed them to stay in the game despite shooting just 40 percent.

The problems returned in the third quarter. As is usually the case, the Celtics problems on the glass started before the shot attempt …

Dribble penetration: This is where the Celtics really miss Rondo, or at least the healthy version of Rondo. Darren Collison and T.J. Ford were both able to breakdown the Celtics defense, which not only allowed the to combine for 31 points and 24 shot attempts, but also caused the Celtics help defense to leave rebounding gaps on the boards.

The bench is thin: Davis and Daniels have been fantastic. Erden has given the Celtics a boost. But right now, with all the injuries, the Celtics need to get something out of either Avery Bradley [10] or Von Wafer [11]. It hasn’t happened yet.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/12/19/fast-break-lucky-13-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[3] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[8] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[11] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[12] > Fast Break: Lucky 13 for Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/12/19/fast-break-lucky-13-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.