- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Injury updates on Kevin Garnett, Kendrick Perkins and Delonte West

Posted By Paul Flannery On January 7, 2011 @ 7:27 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Celtics [1] received some good news on the injury front Friday. Doc Rivers [2] said Kevin Garnett [3] would be back next week, possibly as early as Monday when they play the Rockets.

Kendrick Perkins [4] announced that he was ready to return to practice next week, and said he was three weeks away from returning to game action. That could put him in line to play against the Lakers in late January. “It feels good,” Perkins said of his surgically-repaired knee. “I haven’t had any setbacks or swelling, which is weird.”

Perkins’ timetable was news to Rivers, but the coach has been been encouraged by reports of Perkins’ play in 3-on-3 games.

Then there is Delonte West [5] who had his cast off earlier this week. He is still facing two weeks of rehabilitation on his wrist before he can return to the court. He is still looking at a February return. In the grand scheme of things West’s return may be even more important than Perkins because the Celtics are worried about the depth at point guard behind Rajon Rondo [6].

“The one thing we know that doesn’€™t work, it did record-wise, but it didn’€™t work I can guarantee you that, was the combination of [West] and Rondo out at the same time,” Rivers said. “It was not a good recipe for us, even though we won games, we can’€™t live that way long.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/01/07/injury-updates-on-kevin-garnett-kendrick-perkins-and-delonte-west/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] > Injury updates on Kevin Garnett, Kendrick Perkins and Delonte West" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/01/07/injury-updates-on-kevin-garnett-kendrick-perkins-and-delonte-west/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.