- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers needs more out of Semih Erden

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 15, 2011 @ 2:05 pm In General | No Comments

Doc Rivers [1] admitted after Friday’s escape against the Charlotte Bobcats [2] – without Shaquille O’Neal [3] and Rajon Rondo [4] playing at another level, the Celtics [5] wouldn’t have been too happy.

And rookie Semih Erden would’ve led the list of players feeling pretty miserable.

On a night when the depleted front court needed minutes from their Turkish import, Shaquille O’Neal had to play 35 minutes because Erden – still learning the intricacies of the NBA. Rivers was more than aware that Erden was playing one day after missing practice with a pulled groin.

“Semih, we just needed him more on the floor tonight,” Rivers said. “I just kept telling him, just point, and we’€™ll get you out, and then we’€™ll bring you back in and do whatever we can, but we need you tonight. And they went small and we did a great job of not forcing it to them, but letting it come to them in the flow without taking us out of our flow.”

Rivers would not give the rookie a free pass just because of the injury.

“I don’t ask,” Rivers said. “If a guy’s playing, he’s healthy. Listen, they don’t care on the other team.If you’re going to be out on the floor, I don’t want to hear about it and neither does the other team. That’s how we always function, and our guys know that.”

Rondo fell just four rebounds shy of another triple-double while Shaq scored a game-high 23 points in the Celtics’ 99-94 win over the Bobcats Friday night at TD Garden. The Celtics were very effective from long distance, draining 8-of-19 from beyond the arc.

The Celtics joined the San Antonio Spurs [6] and Miami Heat [7] as 30-game winners, improving to 30-9 on the season and 2-1 on their six-game homestand. They are off until Monday night when they host Dwight Howard [8] and the Orlando Magic [9] in the possible return of Kevin Garnett [10] to the Celtics lineup.

And, if called upon, Rivers hopes Erden does his level best to stay on the court.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/01/15/doc-rivers-needs-more-out-of-semih-erden/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[3] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] San Antonio Spurs: http://media.weei.com/basketball/san-antonio-spurs.htm

[7] Miami Heat: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[8] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[9] Orlando Magic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/orlando-magic.htm

[10] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[11] > Doc Rivers needs more out of Semih Erden" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/01/15/doc-rivers-needs-more-out-of-semih-erden/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.