- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett: ‘These two weeks have been dark days for me’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 18, 2011 @ 1:09 am In General | No Comments

How happy and relieved was Kevin Garnett [1] to be back Monday night?

“I was just called up from the D-League,” he joked.

Playing his first game back from a nine-game absence due to a strained right calf, Garnett scored 19 points in 30 minutes while Paul Pierce [2] converted the go-ahead three-point play with 38.7 seconds remaining to lift the Celtics [3] to a 109-106 win over the Magic Monday night at TD Garden.

Ray Allen [4] had a team-high 26 points and Rajon Rondo [5] had 10 points and 13 assists in a contest that provided a thrilling rematch of last year’s Eastern Conference finals. No one seemed more excited about the turn of events than the man who was playing his first game of 2011.

“You get out of it what it what you put into it,” Garnett said.”These two weeks have been dark days for me, trying to keep my morale up, be around the guys, travel. But being hurt is not one of my things I like to be a part of. I hate it. I don’t deal with it well.

“But as I get older, along with these knuckleheads here keeping it real light for me, keeping my spirits up, I just worked through it. Tonight, I just felt stronger and I’m going to continue to build on this and not have any mishaps.”

He certainly showed no ill-effects of the strained right calf sustained on Dec. 29 in Detroit. Garnett ran and moved without a limp while starting out very strong. He had six rebounds, two assists and four points in nine minutes of the first quarter. Garnett also stole the ball from Jameer Nelson late to help seal Boston’s 31st win, keeping them on top in the Eastern Conference.

After scoring just six points on Christmas Day, Dwight Howard [6] had one of his strongest games yet against the Celtics, scoring 33 points while grabbing 13 rebounds. But still, the Celtics, thanks to the interior passing of Garnett and Pierce dominated scoring in the paint, 52-26.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/01/18/kevin-garnett-these-two-weeks-have-been-dark-days-for-me/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[7] > Kevin Garnett: ‘These two weeks have been dark days for me’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/01/18/kevin-garnett-these-two-weeks-have-been-dark-days-for-me/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.