- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Bobcats’ bench bests Celtics

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On February 7, 2011 @ 9:41 pm In General | No Comments

Despite leading scorer Stephen Jackson [1] getting ejected, the Bobcats got 19 points and 16 rebounds from Gerald Wallace [2] to hand the Celtics [3] a 94-89 loss Monday night in Charlotte. Shaun Livingston and Gerald Henderson [4] combined for 33 points off the bench for the Bobcats.

Ray Allen [5] led all scorers with 25 points, and Rajon Rondo [6] (10 points, 14 rebounds) produced a double-double for the Celtics (38-13), who maintain a slim lead over the Heat for the top seed in the Eastern Conference.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Bench scoring: While a lineup of Nate Robinson [7], Von Wafer [8], Luke Harangody, Glen Davis [9] and Allen battled the Bobcats fairly even for the first five minutes of the second quarter, they scored just three points in that stretch. Overall, the Bobcats’ bench outscored its Boston counterpart 44-15 for the game. The 6-foot-7¬† Livingston (17 points) led the way, using his size advantage against Rondo and Robinson.

Off the mark: When the Celtics’ offense is running on all cylinders, they’ll shoot 60 percent as a team. Against the Bobcats, though, they hovered around 40 percent all night. That’s especially bad when you consider Rondo was seeing the floor well.

Banging the boards: Wallace (16 rebounds) and Kwame Brown [10] (12 rebounds) owned the boards against the Celtics. Wallace is undertandable; Brown isn’t. Together, those two helped the Bobcats out-rebound the C’s by 14 (50-36) for the night. The Celtics really felt the absences of both Shaquille O’Neal [11] and Semih Erden, who sat with injuries.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

The Ray Allen watch: Allen sunk a 3-pointer in the first minute of the game — bringing the magic number to three in order to break Reggie Miller [12]‘s all-time 3-point record. He cut that number to two when he sunk another trey in the third quarter.

At times, though, it appeared Allen might want to wait until Thursday’s home game against the Lakers to set the mark. He must’ve taken more pullup jumpers inside the arc than he had all season. Still, Allen finished with 25 points on 9-of-17 shooting.

Getting under Stephen Jackson’s skin: Earlier this week, when he was sitting on 11 technical fouls for the season and had already been suspended for berating a referee, Jackson said, “If me speaking my mend gets me a tech, hey.”¬†Well, that attitude got him another two technical fouls — in succession — when he thought he got fouled going to the basket. As a result, he was tossed from the game while leading the Bobcats with 11 points at the time.

Brown also picked up a technical when he was fouled by Kendrick Perkins [13] on a layup attempt. Pierce and Kevin Garnett [14] also picked up techs on the night.

Rajon Rondo’s strong start: Just as he did against the Magic, Rondo made it a point to get to the basket right from the opening whistle, which he did rather easily against Bobcats point guard D.J. Augustin. Rondo had 10 points and five assists in the first quarter alone.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/07/fast-break-bobcats-bench-bests-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stephen Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephen-jackson.htm

[2] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Gerald Henderson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-henderson.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[8] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[9] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[10] Kwame Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kwame-brown.htm

[11] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[12] Reggie Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-miller.htm

[13] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[14] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[15] > Fast Break: Bobcats’ bench bests Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/07/fast-break-bobcats-bench-bests-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.