- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics prepare for life without Marquis Daniels

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 9, 2011 @ 4:22 pm In General | No Comments

This was always Doc Rivers [1]‘ biggest concern. What if something happens to Paul Pierce [2] or Marquis Daniels [3]?

“It puts us in a terrible spot,” Rivers said after practice Wednesday. “Going into the year, that was the area of concern because we knew we were one injury away from being very thin and unfortunately it happened.”

The Celtics [4] simply don’t know how long Daniels will be out after he suffered a bruised spinal cord during Sunday’s game with the Magic. Team president Danny Ainge said they would hopefully know more next week after Daniels consults with various doctors and is offered an array of medical opinions.

“The Marquis situation is still a little bit up in the air,” Ainge said. “We’€™ll probably know more in a week or so what’€™s going on there, what’€™s going on in Marquis’€™ mind, get some different opinion from doctors. That is complicated and the fact that we don’€™t have Delonte [West [5]] healthy, that complicates the matter as well. We’€™re thin now. If we had Delonte and Von [Wafer [6]] we’€™d be fine.”

Ainge expressed confidence in Wafer’s ability to handle the backup small forward role, but Rivers was a little more skeptical.

“He’€™s not big enough to be that guy,” Rivers said. “We’€™re going to have to do something. We worked on it today and I’€™ve been here seven years and you’€™ve seen me trap probably 10 times. We’€™re going to have to start trapping, which weakens your defense. I hate it. But we worked on it today and we’€™re going to work on it every day until we get another [small forward].”

There are still a few ways for Rivers to get creative with his lineups. “It depends on who we have, and what we can get away with honestly,” Rivers said.

He can play a small lineup with Ray Allen [7] in the spot alongside Rajon Rondo [8] and either Wafer or Nate Robinson [9]. He might consider going the other way and using Glen Davis [10] in the spot.  Of particular concern is Sunday’s game with the Heat and a certain someone named LeBron James [11].

“When Paul goes out, somebody’€™s going to have to guard LeBron,” Rivers said. “We don’€™t have that someone.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/09/celtics-prepare-for-life-without-marquis-daniels/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Delonte [West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[6] Von [Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[9] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[10] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[11] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[12] > Celtics prepare for life without Marquis Daniels" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/09/celtics-prepare-for-life-without-marquis-daniels/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.