- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Lakers put damper on Ray Allen’s night

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On February 10, 2011 @ 10:54 pm In General | No Comments

With two first-quarter 3-pointers, Ray Allen [1] set the all-time record as Reggie Miller [2] could only watch from his broadcasting chair. Oh, and it came against the Lakers ‘€” off a transition pass from Rajon Rondo [3],  over Kobe Bryant [4] ‘€” but the Celtics [5] lost, 92-86, Thursday night at the TD Garden.

Allen led the Celtics (39-13) with 20 points. Rondo (12 points, 10 assists) and Kevin Garnett [6] (10 points, 11 rebounds) each registered double-doubles, but Bryant scored 20 of his game-high 23 points in the second half as the Lakers (36-17) earned a season split with the C’s.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Rebounding (what’s new?): It was their Achilles’ heel in Game 7 of the 2010 NBA finals [7], and the rebounding issue reared its ugly head again. The Celtics were outrebounded 35-24 on the defensive end and 47-36 overall against the Lakers.

Points in the paint: With the O’Neal “brothers” and Semih Erden all out of action, the Celtics had little if any depth behind Kendrick Perkins [8] at the center position. They not only paid for it on the glass but in the paint as well. Pau Gasol [9] and Andrew Bynum [10] combined for 36 points and 19 rebounds, as the Lakers outscored the C’s 50-32 in the key.

Emotional letdowns: The Celtics rode an emotional wave after Allen’s record-breaking trey to a 45-30 lead midway through the second quarter, but the Lakers responded with a 14-4 run that cut the lead to five and gave LA its confidence back. Another 10-0 run to start the third gave the Lakers a lead and even more momentum.

Finishing the game with just four healthy players on the bench ‘€” two of them rookies ‘€” the C’s had nobody but Von Wafer [11] to give them a lift, especially considering the fact that Glen Davis [12] struggled from the floor (3-for-10) all night long.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Ray Allen’s big 3: In what was probably the best singular moment at the new Garden since the 2008 title run, Allen ripped his record-setting 2,561st career 3-pointer 10:12 into the game. The crowd let out a deafening roar as Allen pumped his fist in celebration.

Following the first quarter, the C’s recognized Allen, who in turn acknowledged the fans, shook Miller’s hand, hugged his mother Flo and kissed his wife Shannon and his children.

The shot also helped Allen record 12 points in the first quarter, as the C’s took a 27-20 lead.

Taking care of the ball: The emotion of the night didn’t hurt the Celtics’ concentration. They committed just three first-half turnovers. Much of the credit went to Rondo, who the Lakers simply had no answer for in the first half. The point guard had eight assists and zero turnovers in the opening 24 minutes of the game, helping the C’s establish a 53-45 halftime advantage.

In the second half, however, Bryant cracked down on defense. Rondo produced just five points and two assists in the final two quarters. The C’s finished with only 10 turnovers. Of course, one of them was an errant Paul Pierce [13] pass on a fast break that would’ve cut the lead to three with two minutes to go.

Von Wafer’s boost: With Marquis Daniels [14] (bruised spinal cord) and Nate Robinson [15] (bruised right knee in 3:39 of playing time) out, the Celtics had to rely heavily on Wafer. And he produced. His eight second-quarter points actually gave him an 8-3 scoring edge against Bryant at the half. Yup, you read that correctly.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/10/fast-break-lakers-put-damper-on-ray-allens-night/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[2] Reggie Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-miller.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] NBA finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[8] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[9] Pau Gasol: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[10] Andrew Bynum: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bynum.htm

[11] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[12] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[13] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[14] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[15] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[16] > Fast Break: Lakers put damper on Ray Allen’s night" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/10/fast-break-lakers-put-damper-on-ray-allens-night/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.