- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Delonte West gets closer to return

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 11, 2011 @ 2:27 pm In General | No Comments

Delonte West [1] wanted to play Thursday night against the Lakers. He went to the Celtics [2] medical staff and argued his case. They debated the issue and that debate is what caused Doc Rivers [3] to say, no. Not yet.

“I said if we have to go back and forth on it, then the answer is no,” Rivers said. “So, he’s going to practice Saturday. I would actually like him to play in the New Jersey game [next Wednesday] just to get him one game [before the All-Star break].”

Rivers left the door open for West to come back against Miami on Sunday. It will largely depend on how West does at practice, who went through his first full-contact work this week. [4]

The Celtics may need him. Nate Robinson [5] left the Lakers game at the 8:45 mark of the second quarter with a bruised knee and didn’t return. Without Robinson the Celtics bench was reduced to Glen Davis [6] and Von Wafer [7]. Rookie Avery Bradley [8] played less than two minutes to finish out the third quarter because of foul trouble and fellow rookie Luke Harangody was a DNP-coaches decision.

The Celtics have been waiting for West for most of the season. He missed the first 10 games with a suspension and then broke his wrist just five games into his return. His return will help their backcourt depth, which has been depleted with the loss of Marquis Daniels [9].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/11/delonte-west-gets-closer-to-return/

URLs in this post:

[1] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] full-contact work this week. : http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/09/delonte-west-i-would-love-to-be-out-there/

[5] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[6] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[7] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[8] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[9] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[10] > Delonte West gets closer to return" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/11/delonte-west-gets-closer-to-return/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.