- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers: We weren’t up the challenge of the Lakers

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 11, 2011 @ 10:57 am In General | 1 Comment

One characteristic Doc Rivers [1] has always admired about his team was that it fights through almost every kind of adversity.

On Thursday night, he didn’t have that feeling. Whether it was the overwhelming number of injuries, the foul trouble of Paul Pierce [2] and Ray Allen [3], Kobe being Kobe or just all of the above, Rivers just didn’t have the feeling that his team had the energy or will to overcome all of it. And that, more than the 92-86 loss to the Lakers at TD Garden seem to bug him the most.

“I thought they came out and jumped on us early in the third quarter, first ‘€“scored the first 10 points,” Rivers began. “And I never thought we fought through it, really. I mean obviously the fatigue and all that ‘€“ you know, one of our concerns going into the game were Paul or Ray couldn’€™t get in foul trouble obviously, because of what we had left. And that happened.

“But I just thought mentally we were not a very good team tonight and usually we are. I didn’€™t think we fought hard enough through adversity, and we’€™re great at that usually.”

But not on this night. While the Celtics [4] are not a great rebounding team to begin with, they usually find a knack of dominating their opponent in the paint. Not on this night when they were outscored, 50-32.

They usually get to loose balls and find a way to score on second-chance points. Not on this night. They were outscored, 16-9, in that category. And while Rajon Rondo [5] posted his 21st double-double of the season, he was just 5-of-14 and – after feeding Ray Allen for his record-breaking three in transition – couldn’t let his team back. It didn’t help that Nate Robinson [6] went down with a bruised right knee in the second quarter and didn’t return.

“It was one of those nights; I just thought we didn’€™t do a very good job of [battling],” Rivers said. “And we obviously did have a lot of adversity with the injury of Nate and foul trouble and the lack of bodies, but you know that that could happen before the game and I don’€™t think we handled that very well.’€

And watching Kobe Bryant [7] – with just three shots in the first half – take over in the third quarter didn’t help either.

‘€œWell once he saw there was a chance to win, Kobe was going to be Kobe,” Rivers said. “I think we knew that a week ago. And, he also knew that we had foul problems on the floor and he was aggressive. Kobe didn’€™t win the game with his offense. Kobe won the game today with his defense. I thought defensively he was absolutely phenomenal. He was everywhere. He was trapping, he was helping, you know off Rondo all night, and trapped the post, blocked shots. I mean, he just had a great floor game to me more than just scoring.’€

The Celtics face another NBA superstar when LeBron James [8] and the Heat come calling on Sunday. The same Heat team that has been dominated twice this year by the Green. And whether or not Delonte West [9] returns from a broken right wrist, the C’s better find their fight on Sunday or history will repeat itself.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/11/doc-rivers-we-werent-up-the-challenge-of-the-lakers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[7] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[8] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[9] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[10] > Doc Rivers: We weren’t up the challenge of the Lakers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/11/doc-rivers-we-werent-up-the-challenge-of-the-lakers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.