- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Nate Robinson will try to play against Heat

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 12, 2011 @ 4:15 pm In General | 1 Comment

Nate Robinson [1] was at the Celtics [2] practice facility until 11 p.m. Friday night getting treatment on his bruised knee, which he injured in a freak collision with the Lakers’ Shannon Brown [3]. He was at the facility again Saturday, but didn’t participate in the team’s practice, other than in the walkthrough segment.

With the Celtics down to just nine other healthy players, Robinson will try to go Sunday when they play the Heat at the Garden. “The pain in there is kind of funky so we’€™re just trying to ice it right now,” Robinson said.

Celtics coach Doc Rivers [4] said Delonte West [5] would not play Sunday, but may try to give it a go on Wednesday when they play the Nets [6] in their final game before the All-Star break. Shaquille O’Neal [7] (Achilles) and Semih Erden (groin) also won’t play and their return has been delayed until after the break at the earliest.

“Semih’€™s out until after the break and Shaq will be too,” Rivers said. “We don’€™t even know if they’€™ll be back after the break right now. Semih’€™s groin is not improving and Shaq’€™s Achilles is not improving at all. We thought we’€™d have them both back by the last game, but that’€™s fine. We’€™re good.”

Asked if Shaq’s injury has become worse, Rivers said, “It just hasn’€™t healed. It’€™s no worse, but it hasn’€™t healed as quickly.”

With Jermaine O’Neal [8] (knee surgery) and Marquis Daniels [9] (bruised spinal cord) also out for the next month at least, the Celtics need all the bodies they can muster for the next two games.

“We’€™ve just got to find a way to win regardless of who goes down,” Robinson said. “That’€™s why it’€™s called a team.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/12/nate-robinson-will-try-to-play-against-heat/

URLs in this post:

[1] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Shannon Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shannon-brown.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[6] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[7] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[8] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[9] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[10] > Nate Robinson will try to play against Heat" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/12/nate-robinson-will-try-to-play-against-heat/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.