- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Steve Pagliuca on D&C: ‘Put the emotions aside,’ and deal is good for C’s

Posted By Jerry Spar On February 25, 2011 @ 9:21 am In General | 4 Comments

Celtics [1] owner Steve Pagliuca checked in with the Dennis & Callahan show and guest hosts Mike Adams [2] and Bob Halloran on Friday morning to talk about the C’s flurry of moves before Thursday’s trade deadline. To hear the interview, go to the Dennis & Callahan audio on demand page [3].

The big trade was Kendrick Perkins [4] and Nate Robinson [5] to the Thunder for Jeff Green [6] and Nenad Krstic [7]. Pagliuca said he has confidence president of basketball operations Danny Ainge made the right call.

“I have mixed emotions,” Pagliuca said. “I loved Kendrick Perkins as a person and a player, and he helped us get a championship. So, that’s the tough part of the sports business. You’ve got to try to make the club better if you have opportunities. Danny’s done a great job at that over the last eight years, since we’ve been here. He assessed that this was something that would be great for the short run to help us win a championship again, and the longer run.

“I think it could be a win-win for both clubs. Because their club is full of shooters and they need somebody tough inside, and there’s nobody tougher than Kendrick. We picked up a guy, Jeff Green, who was drafted fifth, averaging 15 points a game, he can play the 3, the 4, maybe even the 2 at times. And Nenad Krstic, who’s a great shooter, which really balances [Rajon] Rondo out. Rondo will have a free lane now, because they’ve got to go out and cover Nenad, because he can hit the shot.”

Added Pagliuca: “Danny, again, I think has done a great job. Put the emotions aside ‘€” because he loves Kendrick as well ‘€” but this will be good for the club.”

The C’s also traded Semih Erden and Luke Harangody to the Cavaliers [8] for a draft pick and shipped the injured Marquis Daniels [9] to the Kings for another pick. This leaves some questions at the center position, as Shaquille O’Neal [10] and Jermaine O’Neal [11] remain sidelined with injuries. Pagliuca said that should turn around soon, as the Celtics’ bench will become a major strength.

“We got two starting players ‘€” one averaging 15 points a game; I think Kristic is averaging close to 10 ‘€” so, yeah, it’s going to make us very deep,” he said. “And on top of that, Shaq is working really hard to come back, and Jermaine is looking good; I saw him on the bike the other day. If all the things go our way, we’re going to have a very deep team going into the playoffs. And I think that’s what Danny wanted to accomplish.”

The other question concerns the toughness the Celtics lost with the departure of Perkins. “We’ve got a lot of tough players,” Pagliuca said. “Shaq’s a pretty tough player, and he’s coming back. He’s pretty tough in the paint there. [Glen Davis [12]] is a tough player. Baby can bang with anybody. Krstic is also a fighter. He’s no wallflower as well. ‘€¦ He’s a fiery player and he wants to win. So, I think we’re going to be very tough and our guys will bring it up a notch.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/25/steve-pagliuca-on-dc-put-the-emotions-aside-and-deal-is-good-for-cs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Mike Adams: http://media.weei.com/football/mike-adams.htm

[3] Dennis & Callahan audio on demand page: http://audio.weei.com/weei/dennis_and_callahan.htm?resultType=media&media=audio

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[8] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[9] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[10] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[11] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[12] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[13] > Steve Pagliuca on D&C: ‘Put the emotions aside,’ and deal is good for C’s" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/25/steve-pagliuca-on-dc-put-the-emotions-aside-and-deal-is-good-for-cs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.