- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Delonte West sprains ankle, out for Utah game

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 28, 2011 @ 1:28 pm In General | No Comments

During an informal workout Sunday, Celtics [1] guard Delonte West [2] sprained his right ankle when he stepped on another player’s foot and will be out for the Celtics game Monday night against Utah. Doc Ricers told reporters in Utah that West is also questionable for Wednesday’s game with Phoenix when the team returns to the Garden.

This latest injury once again puts the Celtics in a bind as West is the only experienced point guard on the roster behind Rajon Rondo [3], following Nate Robinson [4]‘s trade to the Thunder. Rookie Avery Bradley [5], who has played 10 minutes in his five games since returning from the D-League will likely back up Rondo for the time being.

Another option for Rivers is using Paul Pierce [6] as a point-forward. That worked in stretches earlier in the season when Rondo was out with injuries.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/28/delonte-west-sprains-ankle-out-for-utah-game/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[5] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] > Delonte West sprains ankle, out for Utah game" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/28/delonte-west-sprains-ankle-out-for-utah-game/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.