- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

What Troy Murphy brings to the Celtics

Posted By Paul Flannery On March 1, 2011 @ 12:37 pm In General | 21 Comments

This is about flexibility. Before team president Danny Ainge traded Kendrick Perkins [1] and Nate Robinson [2] to Oklahoma City for Jeff Green [3] and Nenad Krstic [4], the Celtics [5] were a team that could essentially play one way. They had size — and lots of it — but aside from playing Glen Davis [6] at center, the Celtics had less options matching up with teams that play unconventional lineups. Like, Miami.

But Ainge wasn’t done dealing, and he also dropped Semih Erden and Luke Harangody on Cleveland and Marquis Daniels [7] on Sacramento. That opened up three roster spots to be used on the veteran free agent market, and it appears that Ainge has landed the biggest prize in 6-foot-11 forward Troy Murphy [8]. ESPN’s Marc Stein [9] reported that Murphy has chosen the Celtics over the Heat — a move that can’t become official until Murphy clears the waiver wire on Wednesday.

Murphy has played just 18 games this season and seen less than 300 minutes of action after he fell out of favor in New Jersey. He’s also never been in the playoffs. But over a 10-year career, Murphy has shown the ability to step outside and make 3-pointers. He’s also a very good defensive rebounder. As an added bonus, the Celtics keep him away from the Heat.

His best season came in 2008-09 with the Pacers, when he averaged 14 points and 12 rebounds per game and shot 45 percent from behind the arc. He’s a 39 percent career shooter from 3-point range, and that ability to space the floor is highly-valued with the Celtics. Doc Rivers [10] now has three big men who can knock down long jumpers in Murphy, Krstic and Kevin Garnett [11].

The question is where Murphy will fit with a team that already has Garnett and Davis absorbing the minutes at power forward, along with Green. For starters, Murphy will provide insurance and depth during the regular season. Before the deadline moves, Rivers was sometimes forced to use Harangody as a backup power forward and while the team liked his energy and toughness, he was undersized for the role.

Rivers could also use Murphy at the center spot alongside Garnett. While not his customary position, he did log some time there with the Pacers and the Celtics have used Davis in that role as an undersized center.

Assuming he can recapture his form, Murphy is a better outside shooter than Davis and a far better defensive rebounder. That’s not to say he will pass Davis in the rotation. Davis is much better defensively and he’s also proven to be an integral part of the Celtics, but Murphy gives Rivers another option, and again, that’s what all of Ainge’s maneuvering is really about. With Murphy soon to be added to the fold, the Celtics frontcourt roster looks like this:

SF: Paul Pierce [12], Green

PF: Garnett, Davis, Murphy

C: Krstic, Shaquille O’Neal [13], Jermaine O’Neal [14]

What the Celtics lose in size, they make up for in versatility. With six weeks, and 24 games left in the regular season, the onus is on Rivers to pull all the pieces together.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/01/what-troy-murphy-brings-to-the-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[2] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[3] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[4] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[7] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[8] Troy Murphy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/troy-murphy.htm

[9] ESPN’s Marc Stein: http://twitter.com/STEIN_LINE_HQ/status/42626858180808705

[10] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[11] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[12] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[13] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[14] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[15] > What Troy Murphy brings to the Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/01/what-troy-murphy-brings-to-the-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.