- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics escape, but continue to progress

Posted By Paul Flannery On March 4, 2011 @ 10:00 pm In General | 2 Comments

p


brightcove.createExperiences();

With each passing day, the trade that sent Kendrick Perkins [1] and Nate Robinson [2] begins to look a little better from the Celtics [3]‘ perspective. Word came down today that Robinson had arthroscopic surgery on his right knee and will be out 4-6 weeks. Considering the fact that the Celtics traded four players who are injured (including Marquis Daniels [4] and Semih Erden) and replaced them with healthy players, that’s already a net positive.

But what about the on-court results? New center Nenad Krstic [5] has already shown his value as an offensive threat and against the Warriors on Friday night, Jeff Green [6] had his coming out party. Green, who had scored just 18 points in his first three games, erupted for 13 in the first half and finished with 21 points in 28 minutes.

Despite some anxious moments at the end, the Celtics have now won four games in a row after their 107-103 win (recap [7]) and while they would certainly like to close games out better, they’ll gladly take the wins while sorting things out.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Ray Allen [8] should take more days off: The veteran sharpshooter took Thursday off from practice as a precaution. Doc Rivers [9] said that Allen told him his legs were feeling a little sore so Rivers told him to hit some golf balls. Allen showed up for Friday’s game wearing a compression sleeve on his right leg, but any concerns soon evaporated as he made his first seven shots and finished 9-for-13 with 27 points.

A glimpse of what Green can do: The problem for the Celtics and their new forward is simply one of opportunity. Beyond playing the minutes behind Paul Pierce [10], what else can they do with him? That’s a question Rivers raised Thursday [11] at practice and really, there isn’t a good answer.

But with Glen Davis [12] out for a few days with a strained knee, Rivers used Green with the starters and it resulted in unreal production. Of all the things Green provides, the ability to get out on the break with Rajon Rondo [13] is the most appealing and the two connected for a series of highlight-worthy plays. Unlocking Green’s potential is one of the priorities of the last six weeks and Friday night was a positive step.

Paul Pierce’s quiet excellence: Just another 27-point, seven-rebound night for Pierce, who is the glue that holds everything together.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Troy Murphy [14] will need some time: Murphy has now played 26 minutes and missed all seven shots that he’s attempted. Rivers said he wanted to run him until he dropped and he’ll have to keep giving him minutes while he figures things out on the fly.

Von Wafer [15] strains his right calf: It never ends for the Celtics. After dropping seven points in just six minutes, Von Wafer limped off the court with what the team called a strained right calf. There was no immediate update on how long Wafer will be out, but he did not return to the game. That’s a tough blow for Wafer, who has played well in limited opportunities this season.

Second half fades: It happened late in the third quarter against the Suns, but this time the culprits were the starters as they allowed the Warriors to almost erase a huge lead late in the game. Monta Ellis [16] scored 41 points, tying the mark set by Kobe Bryant [17] for most against the Celtics this season. The Celtics escaped, but this late-game trend needs to stop.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/04/fast-break-celtics-escape-but-continue-to-progress/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[2] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[5] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] recap: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2011030402

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[10] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[11] That’s a question Rivers raised Thursday: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/paul-flannery/2011/03/03/what-can-jeff-green-do-celtics-good-questi

[12] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[13] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[14] Troy Murphy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/troy-murphy.htm

[15] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[16] Monta Ellis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/monta-ellis.htm

[17] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[18] > Fast Break: Celtics escape, but continue to progress" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/04/fast-break-celtics-escape-but-continue-to-progress/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[19]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.