- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Not so fast on Shaquille O’Neal return but hope remains for Delonte West Wednesday

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 5, 2011 @ 2:34 pm In General | 1 Comment

p


brightcove.createExperiences();

WALTHAM — Shaquille O’Neal [1] will likely not be able to return to the Celtics [2] lineup on Wednesday after all, coach Doc Rivers [3] said following Saturday’s practice. Rivers indicated he was hoping to have both O’Neal and Delonte West [4] back by Wednesday to help them begin getting playing time to gear up for the playoffs.

“Probably not going to be ready Wednesday because his foot is bothering him a little again,” Rivers said. “Delonte, we’re hoping Wednesday.”

O’Neal has missed the last 12 games and has been out since Feb. 1 with a sore right lower leg and sore right achilles tendon. West missed his third straight game Friday with a sprained right ankle. Glen Davis [5] shot free throws following Saturday’s practice but is still nursing patellar tendinitis in his left knee and is expected to miss several more days of practice while Von Wafer [6], who injured his right calf during Friday’s win over the Warriors is still in a walking boot.

The team also informed center Chris Johnson [7] that they will not renew his 10-day contract for now as Doc Rivers announced the priority is to sign a back-up point guard.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/05/not-so-fast-on-shaquille-oneal-return-but-hope-remains-for-delonte-west-wednesday/

URLs in this post:

[1] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[7] Chris Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-johnson.htm

[8] > Not so fast on Shaquille O’Neal return but hope remains for Delonte West Wednesday" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/05/not-so-fast-on-shaquille-oneal-return-but-hope-remains-for-delonte-west-wednesday/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.