- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Good news on Glen Davis, not so much Delonte West and Von Wafer

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 8, 2011 @ 2:27 pm In General | 1 Comment

WALTHAM — After sounding hopeful on Saturday that Delonte West [1] would return Wednesday against the Clippers, Doc Rivers [2] ruled that possiblity out following practice on Tuesday. West has missed the last four games with a sprained right ankle and was limited to working out on an exercise bicycle Tuesday while the team held an open practice.

“He’s not going to play [Wednesday],” “I think he’s doubtful for Friday, as well. We’re hoping Sunday.”

Meanwhile, Von Wafer [3] is also battling leg issues and Rivers said his back-up guard, injured against Golden State last Friday, is out indefinitely. “Von is going to miss a while. He’s nowhere close to coming back,” Rivers said.

There was some good news as Rivers sounded much more hopeful with regard to Glen Davis [4], who is battling left knee soreness. The power forward has missed the last two games with patellar tendinitis.

“Baby said he felt great today but we’re going to hold him out for the next two games, for sure,” Rivers said.

The Celtics [5] play the Clippers at TD Garden Wednesday night before traveling to Philadelphia for a Friday night game with the 76ers. They host Milwaukee on Sunday night.

Also, Carlos Arroyo [6] participated in his first practice Tuesday with the Celtics after being signed to a veteran minimum pro-rated contract for the remainder of the season over the weekend. Arroyo is expected to be available on Wednesday night when the Celtics play the Clippers.

‘€œHe played against us in two playoff series. He should know some of our stuff. That’€™s the way we look at it. But he’€™s a point guard, been a point guard all his life. So I think some of the stuff, he’€™ll pick up pretty quickly. All the nuances of things, that’€™ll just take time,’€ Rivers said.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/08/good-news-on-glen-davis-not-so-much-delonte-west-and-von-wafer/

URLs in this post:

[1] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[4] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Carlos Arroyo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/carlos-arroyo.htm

[7] > Good news on Glen Davis, not so much Delonte West and Von Wafer" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/08/good-news-on-glen-davis-not-so-much-delonte-west-and-von-wafer/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.