- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Back-to-back woes continue

Posted By Paul Flannery On March 14, 2011 @ 9:17 pm In General | No Comments

The Celtics [1] problems with back-to-backs have been well-documented this season, especially on the road where they were 2-7 on the second night heading into Monday’s game at New Jersey. True to form the Celtics played great in spurts, but looked tired and slow in others and lost, 88-79.

Like many of their losses in similar situations, this was a winnable game, but the Celtics didn’t make the plays. They have now lost the second game of back-to-backs five straight times on the road and with four more back-to-backs left this season and three of them on the road, they will be tested again.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Rajon Rondo [2] continues to struggle: The last time Rondo played a truly great floor game was March 4 when he scored 16 points and had 15 assists in a win over the Suns. Since then he’s had a couple of so-so games mixed in with some complete bombs. Rondo went 0-for-6 in the first half with four turnovers, but things got worse for him and the Celtics when he left the game with a sprained ankle early in the third quarter. Rondo returned but committed a terrible foul on a 3-pointer late in the game and finished 1-for-10 from the floor.

Foul trouble: Less than two minutes after Rondo limped off, Paul Pierce [3] walked off with his fourth foul. He was followed closely by Nenad Krstic [4], which upset the Celtics’ early second half momentum. The Celtics found themselves down by seven at the end of the third quarter and had to play from behind for the rest of the fourth.

Energy level low: The excuses are tired and so were the Celtics, but if they had played moderately better against New Jersey, Washington and Charlotte — to name three — in the back-to-backs, they would have a comfortable margin to play with down the stretch. It could ultimately cost them the top seed in the East.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Glen Davis [5] is a difference-maker: There are times when Davis’ impact in the game can be readily seen in the box score, like Monday when he had 16 points and a season-high 14 rebounds. But when Davis is at his best, his game has more to do with charges, loose balls, long rebounds and all the kinds of things that save possessions. His absence was felt dramatically over the last week and a half.

Carlos Arroyo [6] continues to impress: Delonte West [7] is on course to return Wednesday when the Celtics host the Pacers, but West may have some competition for backup point guard duty. Arroyo had another strong game with four points, four rebounds, three assists and just one turnover in 16 minutes. Whatever happens with the position, Arroyo has proven to be more valuable than just an emergency fill-in.

Kevin Garnett [8] is back in a groove: Garnett recently had a six-quarter shooting slump, which was magnified by the fact that the Celtics lost both games during his skid. But Garnett never stays cold for long and after going 9-for-14 against the Nets [9], that’s at least one small thing that was a positive Monday.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/14/fast-break-back-to-back-woes-continue/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] Carlos Arroyo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/carlos-arroyo.htm

[7] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[10] > Fast Break: Back-to-back woes continue" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/14/fast-break-back-to-back-woes-continue/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.